Aerial view of the garden Feb 2015

Last time I took an aerial shot of the back garden it was in the summer and so there was a lot of greenery. Not so now, on this frosty, albeit sunny, morning as we head towards spring.

My hope is that over the coming years there will be more and more in the garden throughout the year, not just amazing green and other colours from July to September. Still, the garlic (left-hand side) is doing well and no doubt will produce a better crop than last year, in view of the cooler winter.

The rhubarb is starting to sprout, which I am pleased about in particular because it was only recently moved. And there will soon be more flowers on the Ruby Anniversary rose. That was definitely worth its cost – somewhere between ยฃ10 and ยฃ16. If this is anything to go by, I’d recommend buying from the Royal Horticultural Society, especially with the five year guarantee on hardy perennials.

Anyway, time to start sowing – indoors. But first, we’ve got a permablitz meeting this afternoon, so it will be interesting to see how that develops now that the project might finally be getting off the ground. I think in any case it is going to be fun working with other people on a project at someone else’s home.

IMG_0440

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Good for the environment, Permaculture, Social and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Aerial view of the garden Feb 2015

  1. You look very busy Helen! I bet you can’t wait for the spring!

  2. drofmit4108 says:

    Thank you Helen for this aerial view….
    perfect timing!!
    I was trying to describe you “pop-up” cloches to my beloved…
    she wants to move the Enviromesh tunnel to the broad bean bed to stop the chickens having a nibble. She thinks she’s already lost one shoot.
    That, however, would leave the parsley unprotected…
    so I will make a cover with a couple of hoops and some fleece…
    which will take three to four times as long as whanging a pop-up over the top!!
    Pauline has decided that we need to look into buying a few…
    there are always isolated plants that need that protection…
    my, are we going to be eating some expensive eggs!!
    They haven’t started laying yet…
    we’ve been putting food in the front end…
    but all we are getting out of the other at the moment…
    is unpelletized chicken manure!!

    • Helen says:

      Glad the aerial shot has been off use to you, Tim! The pop-up cloches are very handy, though they do deteriorate over time. I had to throw out the outer material on one recently. But I’ve kept the wires and one day I may get round to putting a new covering on ๐Ÿ™‚

      Hopefully, you will get eggs soon – and not at too great a cost. The garden birds love anything green I’m growing – nibbled the parsley and chives to the ground, though they are both recovering now. The Swiss chard has also been had, although that is still standing!

      Great that you are getting chicken manure ๐Ÿ˜‰

      • drofmit4108 says:

        Yes’mmmm! But not necessarily in the right place… viz: the back doorstep!!
        Have you thought about giving your dark fence a coat of limewash for the winter…
        it would reflect a lot of that light back into your garden…

        • Helen says:

          That’s an idea – thank you!

          In the short term, I think it would offend my neighbour, though, since she and one of her friends painted it just last summer…

          • drofmit4108 says:

            That side is yours, surely??

          • Helen says:

            I’m not sure, to be honest. If it is mine then yes she shouldn’t have painted it without my permission (in theory) but as it stands I’m not about to wind my neighbour up over the colour of the fence, after she has gone to the trouble and expense of protecting it….

  3. gaiainaction says:

    That looks great Helen, glad to see your garden too. These cloches seem very good, I have never seen this type before. I am thinking of investing in some also maybe this year.

    • Helen says:

      Yes, they do take away a certain amount of pain ๐Ÿ˜‰ Apart from deteriorating over time, they do tend to blow away unless held down with something heavy over the pegs but I so glad I found them ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. It was fun seeing the aerial view. How nice that you can take a photo from above. Isn’t it amazing how different it looks? How’s the sheet mulch coming along?

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

