Giddy

After school today, my daughter wanted to go to the library to do some online homework, which meant I could use the library computers, too. Their firewall won’t let me use wordpress – goodness knows what it finds outside their rules and regulations but it did afford me the opportunity to purchase my first ever greenhouse. Yippee!! 

Now, I wait with baited breath for its arrival. It’s going to be in the spot in the photo below. Since the soil is so compacted here from once being a path, this seems like a sensible space.



My one reservation is the loose branch in next door’s tree, which is inconveniently hanging over my side of the fence. That said, in all the strong winds this winter it has not budged, so I hang onto the hope that it will continue in this state at least until the autumn, when I intend to take the greenhouse down. 

Meanwhile, I have noticed an onion growing in the compost which is finishing off. I am imminently going to empty that bin so that it can be filled with this year’s offerings, so doubt it will be much use in a meal. However, it just shows you what insulating capacity the metal bin has!


I think I spy daffodils coming up in the following patch of all sorts as well. Not so pleasing are the new crocosmia shoots, which I think will be coming out this autumn before they take over the garden.Anyway, spring is clearly on the march.  Have a happy weekend, everyone.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Giddy

  1. andy1076 says:

    Sounds your day worked out alrite, despite library’s weird forewall, cheers to spring soon coming 🙂

  2. mybrightlife says:

    Exciting news about the greenhouse! That is really going to add a fun extra element to your garden!

  3. I need to cajole my other half to get his lean-to greenhouse built (that I gave him for his birthday) so I can do the same. I gave it to him for his chilli plants – it’s pure coincidence I can make use of it too ;o)

    Ps why are you taking yours down in autumn??

    • Helen says:

      It’s going to be a PVC one and therefore likely to get blown away in any string winds! It won’t be any trouble to put in the loft, I hope, though 🙂

      Good luck with getting your lean-to up and running….. Of course, it would be mean not to take full advantage of it 😉

  4. drofmit4108 says:

    Anyway, spring is clearly on the march.“….
    no, you are a couple of days early…
    Spring is clearly on the February!!
    Not sorry, had to write that…

    You can hang white fleece down the inside of your greenhouse in the spring and maximize the light… and take it down in the summer and benefit from the heat from the black fence…
    may the force be with you!

  5. Oh a greenhouse! What fun!

  6. Jackie says:

    Enjoy the greenhouse. I miss the one I had in my old garden. But maybe one day ….

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

