I’ve got a Dalek

Yesterday, when we were at Old Sleningford Farm for the volunteer workday we were asked if we would like to take away a compost bin that was no longer needed. Two of us said yes and happily took them down the hill to our cars.

Then came another one of those push push push moments with nothing happening. I therefore concluded that the bin was just too big for the boot of my car. Oh well, nothing ventured nothing gained.

However, it turned out that once the back seats had been put down properly there was in fact the room for a rather large plastic bin to go neatly into that space. And now it is sitting neatly in the back garden waiting to be filled up.

๏ปฟ๏ปฟ

I had originally had the idea of doing that job today. But it snowed – clearly not very much! – and it blowed this morning, so I decided to leave emptying the old compost bin (which has now torn along the seam) into it until a more inviting day. So much for spring ๐Ÿ˜‰

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Social and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to I’ve got a Dalek

  1. It does look like a Dalek! How good is compost ๐Ÿ˜Š

  2. Jackie says:

    I’ve got several – they tend to breed if you don’t keep an eye on them

    • Helen says:

      The farm did offer me more but I just don’t have the space. The ‘Dalek’ is much bigger than the old bin so I’ll have to work out a new system for turning the heap but I don’t think I’ll run out of space in it ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. afarmingartist says:

    How lucky. Gotta love free stuff that you can use. I received my compost bin for Mother’s Day, four years ago. My husband knows me. I would love to have a second.

  4. I’m so happy for you! I’ve really taken to composting. It feels good on many levels. Well managed, Helen.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

