First evening in the garden 2015

Since Christmas I’ve watched the evenings grow lighter and lighter. First, it was great to leave work before it got dark, then to get home before darkness fell. Now, there is enough light to be able to manage half an hour or so in the garden, if I so desire. And I certainly do!

So, having failed to achieve all I would have liked yesterday when I was at home all day, I set to work this evening on emptying the finishing compost bin in readiness for its new contents in the near future. The result was almost two full bags of compost, ready to use. That equates to about 70 or 80 litres of the stuff – even better than I had originally estimated last autumn.



Yes, the bags look like stable manure but that has already gone on the front lawn. Now, I am debating whether to use the new contents in the same place as there is some cardboard which is as yet uncovered.

Anyway, whilst taking the compost out of the bin, I stood on a pot which was nearby. Damn, I have broken it, I thought. But not too badly. And this mishap made me pay attention to its contents.



Another spring flower has emerged. I can’t remember its name – it was given to me by one of my colleagues – but I think I need to find a spot in the ground for it, don’t you?

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to First evening in the garden 2015

  1. Dan says:

    That’s a good supply of compost!

  2. Ooh, I never thought of putting my home made compost into bags to free up the bin again for more for next year. Great tip, thanks Helen x

  3. Hurray for longer days.

    • Helen says:

      How much does the light vary during the year where you are, Alys?

      • Helen, we get almost 15 hours of daylight on the Summer Solstice. Our shortest days are 9.5 hours. Right now we’re getting about 11.5 hours of daylight. How about you? I know you’re higher north than we are. When I spent time in the Lake District, the sun was up until 10 at night. It was quite a unique experience in such a beautiful part of the world.

        • Helen says:

          I bet it was wonderful experiencing daylight at 10 pm – and in such a beautiful part of the world as well!

          Officially, tomorrow we will have 11 hours of daylight (according to sunrise and sunset times) but in reality that means 12 hours more or less. As for the amount of daylight at the summer solstice that will be about 18 hours (19 if you take into account it gets light and dark before and after the official sunrise and sunset). So from now till the end of September it’s brilliant 🙂

          By the way, I just looked in my atlas and was amazed by how much further north we are in comparison with you. Our latitude is level with somewhere in Hudson Bay!!

          • Isn’t that interesting? I’m so used to look at the map flat, that its easy to forget how far north and south others are. I should invest in a little globe.

            The Lake District is breathtaking. I loved my time there, staying in youth hostels, hiking and enjoying nature. I hope to get back one day. I haven’t been in 25 years.

            Wow! 18 hours of daylight. That is amazing. Is it harder for you to get to sleep in the summer months?

          • Helen says:

            It’s hard for kiddies to get to sleep – maybe some adults, too – especially as it is generally hot weather as well. Plus, with dawn being well before normal waking time – we’re talking bright sunlight at four in the morning – that can be quite disruptive. Still, I can’t wait 🙂

            I’ve always wanted a globe – saw a beautiful about twenty years ago in France but never got round to buying it….

            The last time I went to the Lake District was for New Year 2011/12. We didn’t venture very far but just the drive to and from the venue was beautiful. My parents actually had a business in the Lakes for a time, so I myself lived there for a few months. There are other beautiful parts of my country, though – you may be surprised/amused that even though the Lakes are only about two hours drive from me I see them as a foreign land and somehow less fantastic that my native North Yorkshire 😉

          • I remember waking in the early hours with the sun streaming in. It really was a different experience. Conversely, people living in Alaska may have 22 hours of darkness a night mid winter. I think that would be very hard.

            You must add ‘globe’ to your mental list. Then one will magically appear before you…or at least that’s what seems to happen to me when I’m dreaming about something.

            I actually fully understand what you’re saying about parts of your country as a foreign land. I live in the vast state of California, and have still not visited the iconic Yosemite nor the farmlands of Fresno. It’s so easy to get caught up and even comfortable in your own small corner of the world. I do love to travel though, and hope to get back to Europe when my boys are grown.

          • Helen says:

            Yes, it must be very hard to have so much darkness in winter. Eighteen hours here is hard enough.

            It’s that there are still places we have yet to explore in our own countries, though I guess mine isn’t much bigger than California.

          • My father was born in Oldham and my aunt, at the time I visited, lived in Northwood, Middlesex. I spent some time in London, Stratford Upon Avon and the Lake District before heading north to Scotland. The youth hostels in your country are amazing. On my way back, I stayed a few days with my namesake Aunt Alys. She died in 2008 at the age of 95. A long life lived.

          • Helen says:

            Your aunt certainly did!

            The youth hostels have got better in recent years. We’ve stayed in one or two and will be staying in a couple this year. In fact, I’m really looking forward to doing the exploring that goes with them 🙂

          • Oh what fun! I hope you’ll write about your travels.

          • Helen says:

            I will do 🙂

  4. streepie says:

    The leaves look like they belong to a primrose (or Primula) – they should be flowering soon!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

