Inside the greenhouse

Well, it’s not the warmest March day on record but my wifi still works out here in the greenhouse – and I can even listen to the radio on the phone at the same time as I type. Just a pity the phone doesn’t power kettles as well!



Anyway, whilst clearing up last night I found another egg box, so today’s sowings have been red cabbage and courgettes. I realise this is a bit of an experiment, since it should be double the temperature it is right now for them to germinate. Still, nothing ventured, nothing gained.



Nevertheless, happy as I am to listen to the rain on the plastic cover, my tootsies are getting a wee bit cold (cf.  https://silverbells2012.wordpress.com/2015/03/08/the-greenhouse/). Droplets of water are also falling on the phone, so it seems the cover is not as waterproof as it could be. Or maybe it’s condensation?

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Social and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Inside the greenhouse

  1. streepie says:

    Enjoy your green house! You could cover the trays with bubble wrap for additional insulation for the time being.

    We did some major sowing yesterday – tomatoes, courgettes, cucumbers, lettuces and broad bean. They have found refuge in the house for the time being, but will move into the green house in the next week or two.

  2. andy1076 says:

    I like how you have a seat and are spending time with your seedlings, it’s cute 🙂

  3. If it’s not condensation it’s just where the seams are, water does drip through the threads even.You seem very happy in your greenhouse. x

  4. Aren’t egg cartons the best! Good luck with that germination 😊

  5. Hi Helen. I love being in the greenhouse, cabbages germinate at quite low temperatures so hopefully your cabbages will germinate fine…however, courgettes do need a lot higher temperature other wise the seeds just rot, so I will be watching yours with interest. Good luck!

  6. mybrightlife says:

    Good luck with your Green house Helen! It is going to be fun watching the progress…

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

