It’s still standing!

Yesterday evening turned out to be quite blowy, so I was in and out of the house putting poles back in place. Thus, it was with some trepidation that  I went to bed, in case the greenhouse was no longer standing when I woke up this morning.

Thankfully, it was still intact when I woke up to brilliant sunshine. And apart from a pot of ice cream sticks, which I use as labels for plantings, nothing was out of place.

I was equally eager to see the greenhouse when I got home this evening. For one thing, I was curious to see whether the inside temperature was higher than outside. I was also curious to see how the trays of seedlings were faring, especially after wrapping them with bubble wrap yesterday.



The temperature was rather disappointing – no different from outside, it seemed. Perhaps it is because the plastic cover doesn’t reach the ground? So, I’m consoling myself with the fact that it makes a previously uncultivatable part of the garden more productive one way or another and gives me cover to potter about.

As for the trays of seeds, they hadn’t dried out. On the other hand, there was condensation under the bubble wrap, so I’m wonder if this is something I need to get rid of or leave in order to maintain moisture?

Whatever the case may be, I am pleased to have these ponderables to keep my mind active…..

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to It’s still standing!

  1. andy1076 says:

    Looks like you built it all good and strong! now, onto the mystery at hand 😆

  2. streepie says:

    We take the condensation under the wraps / cover as a good sign – the soil stays most, and you don’t need to water that often. Just check for mould developing on the soil – you don’t want that.

    Good luck
    Connie

  3. It will also give your plants shelter from the wind…… the small seedlings will certainly enjoy that!

  4. We have kept a bucket with water in our greenhouse during the summer last year. We had such a unusually warm summer last year. It prevented the plants from drying out. I found the tip on the web. It can make the walls wet from condensation. I think we put too much water in the bucket and used too large of a bucket. We had no mold last year on the plants or ground that we saw last year. Good tip to look for mold. We had vents and windows open day and night. We ended up even having to keep the door open as well, because it was getting too hot inside last year.

    We are going to try and plant seeds inside of the poly tunnel next month. I am very glad that you are posting tips on what you are trying. Good suggestion to buy a thermator to check inside temperatures before planting seedling. I am looking forward to learn more from you
    Honey

    • Helen says:

      Well, thank you, Honey. Good tip about having a bucket of water in the greenhouse. As it is quite humid in England to start with (humidity was generally in the 80s and 90s last summer), it will be interesting to see what the atmosphere inside the greenhouse will be like.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

