Shoots – unwanted and otherwise!

A while back, I posted about not labelling seeds sown. Well, the last of these has come through and I think they are aubergines.



If these are aubergine seedlings, that is absolutely fantastic. Last year, I did get a few fruit, in spite of sowing quite late in view of lack of space. However, in all honest, I did eat them when they were still a little unripe.

The fruit were also quite small, possibly because the plants were kept in pots in the house. This year, though, with the greenhouse, they can be given more space. I could even plant them in the ground, as the greenhouse goes over part of the soil in the garden.

Anyway, before I start dreaming of summer, what about the unwanted shoots? Ah, after patiently waiting six months for the Chinese cabbage, the action I hoped for has not materialised in the way I had envisaged. Basically, instead of producing nice heads of edible leaves, they are bolting. 





To me, the flower in the centre of the Chinese cabbage looks somewhat like a type of cauliflower. Makes you wonder. I’m not going to eat it, though – instead it has joined the compost pile. But I am going to sample the much awaited leaves!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, In the kitchen and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Shoots – unwanted and otherwise!

  1. Shame when they bolt! You should have still been able to stir fry them though. My aubergines are still growing – I keep telling them to ‘get a move on, winter is coming’! Slow growers 🙂

  2. Cynthia says:

    I think I am going to forego the aubergines this year. I do love them and they are so pretty but I haven’t had great results with them the past few years. I hope yours are wonderful!

    • Helen says:

      Thank you, Cynthia. As I haven’t found organic aubergines to buy in this country (and locally grown), I am determined to give it a go….

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

