Be careful what you weed!

Now that the evenings are getting lighter, it is great to get out into the garden for a while. But this evening, I was a bit over-enthusiastic.

Ah ha, I thought, here’s a plant I don’t recognise, strange weed but it better go. Mm. Oh oh. I think it was actually an anemone. And just to be sure – after the event, I checked the packet.

anemone about to flower

It is an anemone. But fortunately, there were twenty of them so I should still see a few pretty flowers in the garden. And the one pictured above is now gracing a bookcase in my living room 🙂

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Be careful what you weed!

  1. drofmit4108 says:

    Two years ago I was giving the orchard and soft fruit area its first mow…
    and on swinging the beast round, to go back the other way…
    I saw a Pyramidal Orchid lying on the teeth!!!
    My first thought was….
    “Wow… we’ve got a Pyramidal Orchid”…. which was rapidly overtaken by…
    “AAAAARGH! I’ve just cut down a Pyramidal Orchid!!”
    It was a new species on our property…and they are pretty uncommon around here, too!
    However… all is not lost… last year it came up and was in flower for over a month…
    and this year there are two rosettes of leaves…
    yes, it is now marked… very clearly!!
    The one that was cut down flowered for about three weeks indoors…
    but would never set seed…
    so don’t worry… we’ve all done it…
    wild Vervain / Verbena grows around here…
    its young shoots are identical to Verbena bonariensis…
    all to easy to weed out the ones you want to keep and leave the wild ones!!

    • Helen says:

      Oh yes, so easy to do these things! I’ve not seen orchids in the wild or vervain and verbena. To be honest, I don’t actually know that much about plants outside the vegetable kingdom, so I’ve still got a lot to learn.

      • drofmit4108 says:

        Helen, contact the Yorkshire Wildlife Trust…
        they have lots of events that are fairly easy to get to…
        and loads of them are family oriented…
        reserves with orchids near you are:

        Ledston Luck, Kippax
        http://www.ywt.org.uk/reserves/ledston-luck
        owned by Leeds City Council [Ridge Road, Leeds, West Yorkshire, LS25 7BF]
        “It is particularly noteworthy for the orchid population it holds; in summer 2013 some 4000+ common spotted-orchids, southern marsh orchids and hybrids between the two, as well as numerous bee orchids, were recorded.”

        Townclose Hills Nature Reserve
        http://www.ywt.org.uk/reserves/townclose-hills
        “Townclose Hills, or Billy Woods as it is commonly known, is a prominent knoll of magnesian limestone surrounded by low-lying arable land.
        ….although during the summer it comes alive with species such as clustered bellflower, field scabious and an array of orchids.”
        it is also home to Glow-worms and specific outings are arranged to view them.
        It is near Kippax leisure centre…. Westfield Lane, Leeds, West Yorkshire

        Kippax Meadows
        http://www.ywt.org.uk/reserves/kippax-meadows
        “Tucked away next to the village of Kippax, this mix of meadow and scrub provides a small network of paths to gain some fresh air and exercise.
        ….common spotted orchid, Southern Marsh orchid and bee orchid.”

        So, head off towards Kippax in late May, June and July!!

  2. afarmingartist says:

    I was just looking at my weeds today, too. Easy to identify since they are all new growth. I am trying to decide which ones to keep and which ones to eliminate.

    • Helen says:

      Is there any reason to get rid of or keep?

      There might be weeds growing where I sowed some parsnip and something else that eludes me now but after the first mishap, I decided to leave well alone!

  3. It’s always a shame when something gets yanked out that shouldn’t. I do it often .. damn! 😀

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

