The end of March

It’s been one calamity after another over the last twelve hours. I’d already gone to bed cross last night because the cable for my phone charger was broken. So no blog reading for me 😦

Anyway, the phone situation has now been rectified, but I dread to think if the following situation has deteriorated since I woke up this morning!

after high winds 30.3.15.

I rushed outside to salvage what I could of the seedlings and brought them inside. Then I noticed the structural damage to the greenhouse frame.

  

a very bad hair day

Looks like it is bye bye to the greenhouse dream. Even if the company offer me a replacement, how long will that last?

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to The end of March

  1. shawncallen says:

    Oh no, what a mess. 😦

  2. Cynthia says:

    How disappointing the greenhouse project has been! By now, if I were you I would be so frustrated by it, I’d want to tear it down and not have to look at it again. Reminds me of some of my own endeavors 😦

  3. Dan says:

    Wow, that stinks!

  4. oh no! I can empathise, I’ve had that happen to me too. Hopefully something can be salvaged.

    • Helen says:

      I’ll probably use the poles for growing things up. I knew I was taking a risk with such a flimsy structure and the wind we get …..

  5. Oh dear, sorry you lost your greenhouse.It’s so disheartening. 😦

  6. A greenhouse has to be made of steel and glass
    Any other style will quickly pass.

    • Helen says:

      Some more quickly than others 😉 I will think about a steel and glass one in the future. They are an asset in the garden – even with just my month of trials and tribulations I can see that!

  7. Helen, I’m so sorry to hear of your woes. I understand the disappointment of high expectations. I purchased a small, plastic sided green house two years ago, because I don’t have room for much more, nor did I want to spend the money it would take for the ‘real deal.’ I put several heavy bricks in the bottom, along with some pots filled with stones to ground it.

    I wonder if you can bend the broken arms, then repair with duct tape. If that works, is there a way to secure it to your fence with brackets so it can’t go anywhere in a storm? Best of luck. I wish I was there to help. I like the challenge of figuring these things out. Hugs.

    • Helen says:

      Oh thank you very much for the hug, Alys. I am wondering about keeping the structure in situ and then in the hopefully calmer days of summer putting the new cover (which fortunately is in my loft) over it. The plastic joint has actually snapped in one of the photos, but even if the roof isn’t to its full height on that side I would still be able to grow my much hoped for okra/aubergines and get some red tomatoes in the summer.

      I’m wondering if it wan’t the pressure of the cover pressing on the poles which caused the damage? The frame itself is weighted down, which while necessary may have added to the pressure?

      Anyway, this is all academic. If I can get one summer out of it I will be pleased, otherwise it is a lesson learnt (curious experiment!).

  8. my heart goes out to you Helen the same thing happen to mine lost all my sowing even a tree was broken speak soon

  9. drofmit4108 says:

    Helen, someone at BMAA had the same thing happen…
    it happens all the time to these ones!
    However, her Dad rebuilt the end frames in wood from B&Q…
    apparently he wasn’t a good woodworker….
    just knew basics… but was able to create the right shape…
    he then used the cross bars to hold the frames upright…
    and, because her plot was next to ours, I noticed that he’d passed screws through both the wood and tube… she used it for about four years and then the cover rotted.
    So there is hope… just find yourself a reasonable woodworker.
    Good luck… and Happy Easter.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

