Kernow (Cornwall)

My country might be small but I am intrigued by the differences between the regions. For example, in my post about the Eden Project I had mused about the effect that climate might have on the vegetable patch. Now I have an answer from The Lost Gardens of Heligan, which operates a working vegetable garden in between the rhododendron.

  

At home, my broad beans might have overwintered under fleece but unless something miraculous has been going on since the beginning of the week, it is unlikely they will be in flower yet.

Anyway, here are a few snapshots of the outing today. Another garden ticked off the list – not for me the most magical but not without its charms either.

Alice in Wonderland

small salad with Cornish pasty

seat at the Lost Gardens of Heligan

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, In the kitchen, Social and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Kernow (Cornwall)

  1. andy1076 says:

    The Alice in Wonderland walkway is perfect! so pretty 🙂

  2. gaiainaction says:

    Lovely write up Helen. So you are in Cornwall and your broad beans were put in during the autumn, and are so large already, that must be possible to do here also, thank you for the good tip. Next autumn I will plant my beans too.

    • Helen says:

      Yes, I think you should be able to plant your broad beans in autumn. My own plants aren’t as big or bushy as the ones shown but it will be interesting to see how they have developed over the last week, when I get home tomorrow (I’m only on holiday in Cornwall.)

      • gaiainaction says:

        That’s a great tip as the beans that I put in the earth a week or two ago did not come up, and now I will have to buy bean (broad beans) plants tomorrow at the market. I have so much to learn yet 🙂

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

