Tomatoes and potatoes

Loretto F1 decorating the dining room

One of the bar stools has come in useful today as a pedestal for the newest acquisition to my plant collection. Having sown over ten seeds before going away and then seeing the mishaps that befell them, I could not resist the temptation at RHS Rosemoor in Devon of buying a tomato plant.

Loretto is the variety and the tomatoes should be cherry size. The plant is going to look so pretty once it is bearing fruit later in the year – and I think it might just be possible for us to eat them ripe from the vine 🙂

Perhaps the seeds at home picked up the vibes and felt threatened, for when I got home there were at least three seedlings in their egg carton. Still, the pressure is off now. I will find space for these but if the tomatoes on them stay green, they can go in chutney and ketchup very happily.

Another spirt of life was waiting for me yesterday evening. This time in the form of chitting potatoes.

potatoes from compost

I have no idea what the variety of potato is because I bought them from the organic farm. But last year, I got a small crop of potato tubers from peelings in the finishing off compost bin and thought I would see what happened if I actually planted potatoes this year. It makes sense to use as much of the space in the garden as possible, after all.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Health and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Tomatoes and potatoes

  1. Cynthia says:

    I thought of your tomato mishap this week.. I tipped a dozen of mine and lost 8. I think we still have time to expect red tomatoes from our new hatchlings. Pretty plant and pot!

  2. Lovely update thank you sharing Helen have a blessed week

  3. Oh good luck with those toms and spuds ..

  4. That’s terrific!

    By the way (and you may already know this but I didn’t), tomatoes need a bit of a breeze to turn the fruit from red to green. Interesting, eh?

  5. I think Rosemoor is my closest RHS garden (I’m in Gloucestershire) so I’m really keen to visit. Is it good??

    • Helen says:

      I think it depends what you’re looking for and what you compare it to. We saw the gardens whilst doing an Easter egg hunt/quiz and I would say it was pleasant.
      There is a budding forest garden – only just established by the looks of things, so it would be interesting to see what it is like in a few years’ time. I’m always interested in looking at the vegetable patch and so enjoyed that section and there was what looked like genuine wood at the back which would be nice for a walk in itself.

      I prefer Harlow Carr myself. But then that is my nearest RHS garden, so I know it much better.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

