Feeling virtuous

When I first started blogging there was a fellow blogger called PJ Gardener, who chose her name because of her habit of going into the garden before getting dressed in the morning and then ended up getting carried away with working there. I don’t know what has happened as I haven’t seen any of her posts for a long time but today was the first time in a long time that I have gone into my own garden and got carried away…..

When I came back from my travels at the weekend, I was pleased to see the mangetout I had sown was coming through. Last year, the crop was abysmal because I sowed it too late and the birds attacked the plants quite badly. So, this year I didn’t want the same fate to befall my crop.

Thus, this evening (not in my pjs) I set about repurposing the garden gate, which I saved from last autumn, when I look it down in readiness for the greenhouse going up this spring. The gate had taken up a lot of space because of the swing needed to get the wheelie bins in and out for the refuge collectors. But it would have been a shame to chop it up for firewood when it might make a frame for something in the garden.

support for the mangetout

I haven’t found a way of maintaining it upright without leaning it against the fence (yet) but I think it will be okay as it is for the time being. The main thing is the netting to keep the hungry birds from having a good nibble.

Anyway, this job did not take very long. The ‘carried away’ aspect of tonight’s work was the weeding. With the advent of spring the dandelions were starting to flower, the crouch grass was spreading and a few nameless varities of unwanted guests were making an abundant appearance (by my garden’s standards).

There was also the question of the blackberry bush. Or rather the new plants growing from the roots where the bush had been, up until the autumn of last year, before I moved it to the shadiest part at the back of the garden, in what is becoming the forest garden. There shoots are particularly uninvited because, unlike the mother plant, they have thorns.

Anyway, I can clearly see what permaculturists mean about land eventually turning to forest, if left to natures own devices. Just a shame I still want something of an annual vegetable patch as well! 

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Feeling virtuous

  1. I’m glad you saved the gate and found a use for it in your garden. Well done.

    I followed the PJ Gardener as well and loved her posts. I do miss her presence.

  2. drofmit4108 says:

    Sometimes events overtake the blogging…
    I haven’t written anything on our blog about the meadow for over a year…
    too much work and lack of inspiration…
    the one about earlier life in these parts has just got going again….
    after a re-think about direction and change of name for the blog….
    other people migrate their blogs to a different platform….
    the one about the meadow was here on Wurdpress….
    but it didn’t suit my style of writing… so it is now on Blogga!
    But, thinking of the PJ Gardener makes me realise that the French “detent” clothing…
    that I get into on leaving the sack…
    must make me a PJ gardener until about eleven AM some days!!

    And volunteer plants left when we move something can be both a benefit and a pain…
    comfrey is the worst… roots go to Australia and back…
    when you move it, you just create a further patch!
    You cannot get all of the root out, and it only takes a half-inch to create new life!!

    • Helen says:

      Yes, lots of reasons why you no longer see certain blogs…. As for the blackberry, I also noticed that the stems I put in the hugel bed are coming to life. Never saw that in the compost bin, perhaps because of different ‘climatic’ conditions. So, the stems might be in for a relocation 😉

  3. Nothing better than gardening in your PJs. I have been found myself many times out there in my nightware, not the best of looks. LOL … Nothing like an old gate either, perfect in terms of recycling and permaculture of course 🙂

    • Helen says:

      PJs are comfortable – I don’t wear them to work though 😉

      I think the gate looks quite pretty and the mangetout don’t grow that high. I wish they would grow as fast as my rhubarb, though!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

