Filling up the shelves

I felt in a bad mood when I got home from work this evening. And the best thing I could do was get my gardening gloves on and sort out more seedlings.

potting on aubergine and courgettes

On Saturday, I had placed the newly acquired tomato plant on a bar stool by the back door, as there is plenty of light for it in that position. Then I remembered the shelves one of my neighbours had given me a few years back. 

I had tried using the shelves (with a cover) in the back garden. But guess what? They blew down… No idea, really, why I thought the greenhouse would fare better!

Anyway, the shelves then migrated to my bedroom but there was insufficient  light on the lower ones for it to be truly useful. So, they ended up in the Wendy house. Useful for storing horticultural fleece but not much else.

Now, they are loaded up with courgette and aubergine seedlings. There is also a pot with the remaining pumpkin seed. I must get another packet of the latter, though, to increase the chance of a pumpkin crop as we wouldn’t want to be pumpkin-less come Halloween, would we now?

The end of October is a long way off, however, and there is a lot of growing to be done. And I am going to have a job finding space for all the seedlings, should they flourish. But I’ll think about that another day 🙂

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Filling up the shelves

  1. Sorry you had a bad day at work. Nothing like gardening therapy to lift your spirits though! 🙂

  2. I’m sorry to hear about the bad day. I’m glad you turned your energy towards growth, gardening and seeds!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

