Kale to celebrate

Whilst pottering about outside, I decided to put a couple of cloches that I thought were redundant away for now. One of them was not quite so redundant, however.

overwintering kale

I sowed kale seeds in pots towards the end of last summer and planted the strongest out in the autumn, once I had some space in the garden. In the end, I gave up checking as I though all the seedlings had died.

Well, clearly not. And just in time to celebrate three years of Silverbells steps out. It certainly has been a journey of discovery – in more ways than one!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Social and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Kale to celebrate

  1. Such a great veg! Well done 😊

  2. afarmingartist says:

    I love Kale! It’s so easy to grow, too.

  3. Cynthia says:

    3 years! Congratulations!! Celebratory kale salad for dinner?

  4. Happy anniversary, happy kale! Three years is an impressive milestone. Good for you, Helen.

    • Helen says:

      Scary how quickly time passes! Sometimes I feel I haven’t made much progress in the garden, but then I remember all the things I’ve done and how long it takes trees, for example, to become established.

      • Trees take a very long time. The beauty of a blog is that you can go back and see the progress. You might even want to post about that: show a photo of wear you started and where you are now. I can even make a collage for you if you send me the pics. I love doing that sort of thing. If you decide to say yes, just ping me via my contact form.

        • Helen says:

          Thank you, Alys. I wish I had taken more photos from before I started blogging – eg as I was digging out the bushes that were in the back half of the garden. But nonetheless incremental shots over a few years would make an interesting collage – even just for me!

          • I too often wish I had more starting photos. When I work with clients I often forget to take a starting picture. The changes can be quite profound.

            I will look forward to that post, and again, happy to create a collage on your behalf. 🙂

          • Helen says:

            Thanks once again!

            Yes, I imagine most people don’t think about starter photos. In my case because I had no thoughts of blogging when I started the garden, I had no interest in keeping memories I had neither chosen nor had any liking for.

          • I’ve enjoyed taking photos my whole life, but it wasn’t until the advent of digital that I started taking them more liberally. In the days of film, I would always take pictures judiciously. I think digital cameras are so liberating. You can take 50 shots of a bee, knowing that you’ll probably get one or two good ones.

          • Helen says:

            Yes, I remember being much more judicious when taking photos before I got a digital camera! And of course, you had to wait for the film to be developed as well.

          • Yes! And you had to pay for all the photos, even the blurred ones that you threw away. A lot more waste in those days.

          • Helen says:

            So altogether better now 🙂

  5. drofmit4108 says:

    That looks like Red Russian kale….
    it is, perhaps, our favourite…
    it used to do exceptionally well for us at Burley Model…
    and doesn’t need a cloche, it is frost hardy…
    Pauline said today that it is about time she sowed this year’s batch.
    We let it sprout… the sprouts can be cooked like brocolli… but are wonderfully sweet.
    One year… being a bit pre-occupied with other matters… we missed some sprouts…
    not a bad mistake really… the seed that fell kept us going with young plants for over four years…
    we just used to transplant them into the bed that was to be their next home!!
    Kales are a really good winter staple!!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

