Developments in the front garden

When we came back from Cornwall just over a week ago, the front garden greeted us as follows.

11 April 2015

To be frank, I was a little embarrassed. I’d forgotten about dandelions being impervious to smothering and hadn’t reckoned on cats being attracted to the manure. On the positive side, the phacelia was starting to grow, so I was hoping that would soon be covering up unwanted growth and feline offerings.

A week on, I have bought some pepper and sprinkled it liberally over the garden – and removed the cats’ poo. Thank goodness motherhood has somewhat inoculated me against the revulsion to matters body physical.

And my lovely phacelia is growing more quickly than the dandelions. It was sown over the whole area but not come up everywhere.  That’s okay, though, as I am going to sow another green manure in the near future, so there should be flowers aplenty over the summer – and all keeping the manure and cardboard in place.

19 April 2015

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Good for the environment, Permaculture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Developments in the front garden

  1. gaiainaction says:

    Cats stuff in the garden is something I don’t like to have to cope with as I hate the smell. But fortunately the ground covering is good now and not much bare soil to be seen, but they have tried 🙂

    • Helen says:

      They are pests, aren’t they? Never had to deal with it before but I hope in the long run to have enough ground cover, like you, so it deters them. I hope you have continued success in keeping the cats at bay in your garden!

  2. Great cover crop phacelia .. And gets to be biggish! No room for those kitties 🙂

  3. Karen says:

    Lets hope the phacelia grows rapidly and discourages the cats…they can be a real pest.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

