The beauty of bulbs

Flowers are great – adding colour to the garden and encouraging bees. They also fill me with joy, because at last something is going on while I wait for the food production to kick in.

A month or so ago, I noticed a flower I didn’t recognise.  Now, there is another.

 

the mystery guest

 
Is it hyacinth? If so, I don’t remember planting any in the flagship hugel bed and I swear there were none there before. But I could be wrong….

Flowers I did plant are tulip and anemone. The latter have in fact been around for a few days but the tulip was a present for my return home last night.

 

the pink on the tulip became more noticeable overnight

  

all in white – anemone

  

are they showing empathy with the phacelia – purple anemone

 

Finally, the daffodils round the apple tree have flowered. I thought I had made a mistake in the depth I should plant them to, so had wondered if they would be a success. The colour is different from what I had expected but I don’t care – it is so nice to see them!

 

late flowering daffodils

 
And being bulbs, these flowers will leave space for other plants, once they have finished. No bushes with nothing but leaves to water throughout the summer. Just bulbs in the ground waiting for next year πŸ™‚

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Good for the environment and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The beauty of bulbs

  1. andy1076 says:

    Daffodils are among my favorites, Can never tire of them πŸ™‚

  2. Awesome post thank you for sharing i think your the mystery guest is a grape hyacinth they came spread by them self’s has anyone near you got them my next door neighbor has them have a blessed weekend

    • Helen says:

      Enjoy your weekend, too, Linda. And thanks for confirming that they are hyacinths. Perhaps I did plant them but they could well have travelled…..

  3. streepie says:

    Yes, it’s a hyacinth – a sign that spring has truly arrived!

    • Helen says:

      Thanks for letting me know! I somehow had it in my mind that hyacinths were taller. Anyway, they are most welcome in my garden, especially if it means a true sign of spring πŸ™‚

  4. drofmit4108 says:

    Sorry all who identified it as a Hyacinth…
    it is in fact Spanish Bluebell…
    endemic in Leeds… seeds everywhere… bulbils hide in any soil….
    BMA was covered in them!!
    Whilst they are driving out our native Bluebell, they are not doing so in the immediate Leeds area…
    anything like that hybridised with these invading Spaniards, did so a long time back…
    they transplant very easily… and spread like b@@@@@y!!
    Let them grow and pull up/transplant the ones that are in the wrong place!!
    They are just as wonderful to look at as English native bluebells…
    just stockier and more upright.

    • Helen says:

      They are rather taking over the garden, so a few might have to come up once they have stopped flowering.

      Funnily enough, at the back of the garden I think there are both types of bluebell. I noticed them yesterday, now the native bluebells are coming out and realised the ‘hyacinth’ appearance is before the petals unfurl.

      T
      Anyway, thanks for the background info as well as the identification, Tim.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

