The apple tree and fennel

‘Fennel: plant away from gardens; disliked by most plants.’ John Jeavons, How to grow more vegetables

The other day I posted a photo of the blossom on my apple tree. I was pleased that some was finally showing but I was also concerned about the amount of time it was taking. It’s almost May and I am sure there should be more buds than this:

 

apple tree on 1st May 2015

 
And I have a suspicious the culprit might be this:

 

fennel lurking

 
So, the fennel has now been dug out, will be dry and enjoyed as tea. But I think that is the last I will plant in my back garden. I am inclined to see what happens out the front, but that will be a story for another day.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The apple tree and fennel

  1. nice update thank you for sharing my be you could grow the fennel in a tub next year in a corner were nothing else is growing have a blessed day and weekend

  2. Such a great plant, but seriously disliked by many others. Worth keeping on its own. Although I’m growing it near some celery .. so far so good! 😀

    • Helen says:

      Good news about the celery! I don’t have a lot of space, which rather restricts the choice of location 😦

      • drofmit4108 says:

        Front garden for the fennel….
        too much sun and it bolts!!
        And your little apple tree shouldn’t be allowed to bear fruit for the first three years…
        weakens the plant….
        enjoy what blossom there is…
        and then remove the dead flowers and possibly fertilizied fruit.

        • Helen says:

          This tree is actually five years old so I really do hope it will bear fruit! I will take the blossom off the crab apple once the flowers die, though 🙂

  3. I didn’t know that about fennel. Fascinating. I hope the removal does the trick.

    • Helen says:

      Thank you! I’ve been away for the weekend so it will be interesting to see if there is already any difference when we get home this evening.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

