After London

We’ve just had three lovely days in London with an old school friend and her family. Apart from admiring the communal garden she shares with her neighbours, there were no horticultural activities but I was intrigued to see how my endeavours on home territory had been coming along when we got home.

 

back garden 4 May 2015

 
I had somehow expected the beans I sowed in the ground on Friday to be sprouting but no surprise that the ground was the same as when I had left it. Well, not quite because there had been a decent amount of rainfall while we were away, so I was really pleased to find the soil damp and dark brown.

I also felt the garden to be somehow lusher than when we had left it. There are still patches of emptiness but I can see it is no longer a winter landscape. The phacelia is starting to flower, which I hope will bring the bees in. The beetroot is coming through and the lettuce is looking good. Small but definitely ready to be thinned out. Yummy, salad for lunch tomorrow then!

Of course, the weeds had been having a field day, so this evening I pulled a few handfuls, including the flowers off the dandelions, which seem to appear on a daily basis. On the other hand, the chive flowers have not yet opened out but I hope that will happen soon. I find them really pretty and ever so nice in a salad – just not the one tomorrow.

Inside, at last I have a pumpkin coming through. And I feel the cabbages are ready to be hardened off. Inspite of having the shelves by the back door, I have to find room for more seedlings to be potted on, as well as some to be sown. A shame we might still have a light frost or two, as the courgettes are romping away. But I hope that bodes well of a magnificent crop in the not-too- distant future.

Oh, the joys to come 🙂

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, In the kitchen, Permaculture, Social and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to After London

  1. Isn’t it fun watching the garden come to life! 🙂

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

