Hardening off

In 2011, I tried my hand at growing cauliflowers from seed for the first time. I had bought plugs the previous year and they had done well, inspire of the snow that winter. So, I was curious to see how those from seed would fare.

Well, the seedlings were fine until I put them outside one morning to harden off. No cover, just pots on the patio. And when I came home the pots were still there but what had happened to the seedlings? Nobbled by the birds. At least someone enjoyed the meal!

This year, I have about twenty seedlings – far too many for the garden but I am determined to have something of a crop. There is one plant which survived this winter but alas there is no flower.

So, the most mature seedlings are going out under the net tunnel, which has been moved, as the Chinese cabbage it was protecting have now been eaten. And I think the onions that were also under there have developed roots, which I hope means they can now survive any interest from the birds.

 

tunnel for hardening off the cauliflowers

 
The seedlings are back inside now and I will put them outside again for a while tomorrow. The poor things did look a bit sorry for themselves when the came back in this evening, but I hope that the horrid wind won’t last long and they can be planted out in a couple of weeks’ time, leaving space for other seedlings to be adequately accommodated in the house.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hardening off

  1. Lovely post thank you for sharing Helen

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

