Impervious Jerusalem artichokes

Last year, I grew Jerusalem artichokes for the first time. I was a little disappointed by the number of tubers I got but since they are perennial I at least thought there was a chance of them growing again this year without my having to go out and buy myself some more.

Originally, there had been two tubers in the ground – and I deliberately left some of the crop in the ground. Happily, these are coming through, albeit in amongst other crops, which I don’t think will cause any difficulties. But we shall see.

 

Jerusalem artichokes with the carrots

 
On the other hand, I thought I had removed all of the tubers from the grow bag. But evidently not, as they appear to be sprouting amongst the broad beans.

 

contained artichokes emerging

 
At least, in the grow bag they are contained. And the broad beans don’t seem to have a problem with their neighbours. As for the ones in the ground, I am aware that they could eventually overrun the garden but in the meantime I am intrigued to see what happens!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Impervious Jerusalem artichokes

  1. They make my favourite soup!

  2. I’ve never grown the Jerusalem Artichoke – but I’ve been told by those that have done that they will take over. Good luck 🙂

  3. Yes, Jerusalem Artichokes have marched from one end of the garden to the other over the years!

  4. drofmit4108 says:

    Helen, that is another to put in the front garden…
    if they don’t get enough sun to bring them to flower…
    the tubers get larger…
    only discovered that by accident.

    • Helen says:

      Oh, do you think if I cut the stalks down before they flower the tubers will be bigger? I had read that that was the recommendation and had wondered why.
      Last year, I was curious to see what the flowers looked like but I wasn’t that impressed so I won’t bother waiting this year.

      • drofmit4108 says:

        If they flowered in your back garden…
        then your environment is similar to here…
        at Burley Model they almost never flowered.
        But the idea is not to cut them down…
        just cut off the flowers…
        then the leaves put everything into the tubers!!

        And Jerusalem artichoke makes a very good substitute for Water Chestnut in Chinese cooking…
        just put peeled disks of artichoke into the stirfry at the end…
        don’t let it cook, just take heat from the rest of the veg…
        that way they remain crunchy!!

        • Helen says:

          Yes, the micro-climate here is different from Leeds – being a garden, it might also be more sheltered anyway.
          I will definitely try Jerusalem artichokes in stirfry and just make sure they don’t flower.

  5. Awesome update thank you for sharing

  6. What fun. I love garden discoveries. Gardening improves with time, doesn’t it?

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

