That summer feeling!

The weather forecast on my phone had said it would rain earlier in the day and then get sunny. Indeed, it was a tad gloomy when taking my daughter to school first thing but my! It was beautiful by about 11 o’ clock. Just the kind of weather to do some planting out and more hardening off.

So, the strongest cabbages are now in the ground, waiting for this evening to be watered. I’ve followed John Jeavons’ (How to grow more vegetables) recommendation that the seedlings be planted up to the first true leaves. Apparently, the first leaves are actually part of the root system, so doing this prevents the stems from distorting (so much). 

Anyway, the planted cabbages still have the company of the ones left in pots, which might as well live outside until they are ready to be planted, too. I need the space for cucumbers, which have now been sown.

red salad cabbages

I am not sure if marigolds need hardening off but they need potting on. I don’t think it would do them any good to be planted out as they are (different reasons depending on location), so I’ll let them acclimatise to being outside and then they can move into separate pots before planting in their final location.

marigolds being hardened off

The indoor cherry tomato plant also had an airing. I thought it might as well get a good blow in the wind to increase the chances of pollination. Not sure how much it enjoyed the experience as it was definitely blowy out there but all being well there will be fruit before long!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to That summer feeling!

  1. atkokosplace says:

    You’ve reminded me about marigolds! Loving your blog! šŸ˜€

  2. Awesome update thank you for sharing have a blessed week

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

