Awash with purple

Having got over the upset last night when the screen on my mobile cracked, I have been able to appreciate the flowers in the back garden which are out in force at the moment. The colour might be a little uniform but it happens to be my favourite: purple.

The only one I planted for its flowers was actually the chives. As I may have previously mentioned, I love these in a salad. And after waiting for about two weeks for the buds to open, the flowers are finally here.

 

chive flowers

 
I have never seen chive flowers in the shops, so this is an example of how growing your own food enables you to get what you really want on the plate. On the other hand, I won’t be eating the phacelia flowers – but a bumble bee was certainly having a feast while I was taking a photograph of the second purple flower on the list.

 

phacelia flowering

 
Bumble bees are in decline as well as the honey bee and they need our protection just as much. They are also pollinators and as they seem to frequent my garden more than other bees I am pleased that they are still around. Aside from their usefulness, I love watching them as they go about their work.

Anyway, the third flower for this evening is the bluebells. They look like hyacinth when they are in bud and how majestic they are in the hugel bed. 

 

bluebells

 
My daughter is as enthralled as me about the colour at the moment. She is not sure we should go out and pick any of what we can see for the house, which touches my heart. It would great to have a little of the colour inside, too, though!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, In the kitchen, Permaculture, Social, Wildlife and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Awash with purple

  1. Oh I love chives, I put them in nearly everything 😀

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

