Fruit cages and First World problems

I had had great plans for this evening, not least sorting out a fruit cage for the blueberry bush. At the weekend, I had bought the netting, so it was just a matter of getting off my rump and doing the deed.

Then I heard a clunk and a tearful child came running down the stairs… The phone has been dropped and the screen is now cracked. Grr…. As I am still tapping on it now, clearly it is not the end of the world but…. I have been wound up all evening.

At the same time, we’ve agreed this can mark a transition to the next chapter in our lives, where we put the gadgetry down and interact more – as well as do the jobs in hand before it gets dark.

The phacelia has been trampled on in the process of erecting the fruit cage but thanks to my neighbours’ security light we managed to secure the netting round the blueberry bush with the help of some bamboo canes, old yoghurt pots and a handful of pegs.

 

fruit cage after dark


I wonder what it will look like in the morning. Maybe not quite as I had envisaged but no doubt more effective than the netting I just hung over the bush last year. Then the berries were gobbled up before we got to savour them, so something has been achieved. And even if my phone had been totally broken, that would not have been the end of the world either!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Social and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fruit cages and First World problems

  1. Thank you Helen for sharing i am sure it will look nice this morning

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

