Never seen anything like this!

It was the local primary schools’ cross country run this evening and afterwards we took a walk along the lane which borders the back of our houses on the way home. I don’t know why I don’t do this route more often – it is so much more pleasant than walking along the road.

Anyway, no doubt in part because of the rare occurrence, I was very surprised to see a field full of…….

 

local vegetable

 
I wasn’t sure of my eyesight – and I doubt you can see from the above photo. However, the children found a way into the field, so we took a step inside to investigate.

 

in fact, a famous local vegetable

 
My eyesight isn’t so bad after all. The field was full of rhubarb. Though I shouldn’t really be surprised by this, considering I live inside the Rhubarb Triangle. (There is even a festival in Wakefield to celebrate this splendid vegetable in February.)

Funny the preconceptions we have! 

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Never seen anything like this!

  1. You can’t have too much rhubarb!

  2. drofmit4108 says:

    We brought rhubarb with us from Leeds…
    and therefore I have made triangular….
    the beds in which it grows…
    just as a reminder!!
    A wonderful garden that we visit locally… Valmer… has some Glaskins Perpetual growing up against a wall… now that really is a true Yorkshire variety!!

  3. Just what I need to plant! Thank for the reminder ..

  4. Lovely update i can see rhubarb crumble and tarts Helen i am sure they will not mine you taking on or to stalks from the patch

    • Helen says:

      I did actually wonder why the field wasn’t empty, considering anyone can get in. I wouldn’t take any though – it’s different from picking things from a hedgerow, I think.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

