The tomatoes have arrived!

I can hardly believe my eyes. I pulled the curtain which goes round the shelves at the back door this morning  and this is what greeted me!

tomatoes in May

By the size of the tomatoes, some of them must have been there for more than a day. However, I had been so focused on the other side of the plant, where the majority of the flowers are, they clearly passed me by.

Anyway, I am so amazed because the tomatoes I started from seed in March are still largely seedlings and won’t be flowering for quite some time. In other words, a lesson for next year is that I sow a few seeds in January in order to have indoor tomatoes like the ones above.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The tomatoes have arrived!

  1. jeffollerton says:

    Yes, these are way ahead of my tomatoes, which I’m only just potting into their final pots today.

  2. Awesome news Helen thank you for sharing

  3. That is exciting news. I’m so happy for you.

  4. afarmingartist says:

    What a beauty, I know how you feel..

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

