Poorly

Over the past few months, I’ve been dogged by eczema on the palms of my hands. It started out like a small patch of hard skin, first on my left hand and then on the right. And that’s what I thought it was – from digging so much at the allotment from December to June last year.

Then it escalated to covering just about all the surface area… The final straw came this last weekend when it spread to my fingers, so after a trip to the doctor’s on Monday I am now on some horrendous antibiotics, which basically means I can’t eat. Oh dear! 

But why am I blogging about all this?

Well, the pain was putting me off doing anything, including my beloved gardening. Fortunately, that seems to be abating, what with the antibiotics and steroid creams as well as a super-duper moisturising cream. So, hopefully, I will soon be back on course to sow, plant and tidy up.

In the meantime, the tomatoes I posted about at the weekend are getting bigger πŸ™‚

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Health and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Poorly

  1. Hope you get back out in the dirt soon!

  2. Oh that’s not good news at all. I use calendula ointment a lot .. might be worth giving this a go at some stage. Good luck your garden will miss you πŸ™‚

  3. Sorry to hear but hope you will soon be on the mead Helen and that you will soon be able to eat evenif it soup or ice cream

    • Helen says:

      Thank you Linda. The doctor explained that the tablets will probably make me lactose intolerant for a while, so I’m eating probiotic yoghurt to try to keep my stomach healthy. And soup seems fine… I like the idea of ice cream πŸ™‚

  4. Helen, I’m so sorry to read you’ve been in distress. Skin irritation is the worst, and yes, will certainly curtail gardening activities. I’m glad to hear that you are on the mend. I hope this is the last of the troubles.

  5. PS I can’t find the search box on the right?

    • Helen says:

      Oh! I rarely see blogs (including my own) on a computer these days, so I’m not sure about search boxes. Maybe I never set one up. If you’re looking for the post on the phacelia is was only a few days ago, if that’s any help?

      • Thanks, Helen! The search box is a nice feature if someone arrives at your blog to look for something else. I thought it was a default, but apparently not.

        I’m so impressed that you blog from your phone. That is quite the feat.

        • Helen says:

          Well, we all learn something every day…. Next time I am on a computer where I can access my blog, I will look into putting a search box in.

          It is possible to access blogs through the website on a phone, but that is I think you can see is quite tricky. The WordPress app is user friendly, on the other hand. It just lacks some of the web-based features, such as the dash board.

          • Agreed. I blogged once from my phone and like you, found it doable but with a few missing features. That said, did you ever imagine in a million years that you would take out a phone and write a blog, then publish it, all from a tiny phone you can hold in your hand? It’s blows my mind when I think about it.

          • Helen says:

            It is incredible, yes!

            The most convenient aspect of blogging from my phone is that the photos are readily accessible – and my camera is always with me πŸ™‚

  6. I hope that your get well soon!
    Honey

  7. atkokosplace says:

    I understand eczema. My daughter suffered with that as a child. I’ve learned a lot since then. I hope you feel better ASAP!!!! I am glad to hear your tomatoes are getting bigger. I have yet to see one on my vine! I have to be patient. In the mean time I am enjoying a ton of lettuce! Hahahaha. Have a wonderful day and get well soon. You have more digging to do! πŸ˜‰ Best, Koko

    • Helen says:

      Thank you, Koko. Hopefully, your daughter is clear of eczema now? It is so uncomfortable, especially when it gets infected!

      • atkokosplace says:

        She gets a tiny patch every now and again. We control it through foods high in omega 3’s and essential oils and lotions I make for her. When we’d spot it coming on, we put a drop of tea tree on to help with the possibility of infection and then the lotion/creams i’d make. Thank goodness she rarely gets it. Yes it is uncomfortable and remember the tears of discomfort and pain. When she was tiny I’d put her in an oatmeal bath just to soothe her. I do feel for you and I’m sending you good thoughts. Be well dear! πŸ™‚

  8. gaiainaction says:

    Sorry to hear about your problem Helen, and glad to hear that you have improvement. Not much to say about eczema really only that I have seen remarkable improvement in my niece when she was put on homeopathic treatment. I too suffer from psoriasis and that has almost totally disappeared with the help of homeopathy. Just thought I would let you know. Enjoy your gardening πŸ™‚

    • Helen says:

      Thank you! A friend of mine recommended a homeopathic treatment today as well.

      As for psoriasis, my dad is a sufferer, so I know all too well how bad that can be but I am glad you have found solace in homeopathy πŸ™‚

  9. I hope it gets sorted soon 😦

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

