The magic of rain

Well, my hands might be in a mess but with the pain receding, and a renewed determination to involve my daughter in activities at home, when we got back this evening we had a lovely hour in the garden.

 

purple runner beans

 
The purple French beans had been languishing on the patio for a few days. I had forgotten to take them in one night after putting them outside to harden off. However, they didn’t seem to mind the experience. At the same time, they did mind being in their pots. So, all being well they will be much happier in the soil.

To get to this point, I needed to clear out more of the fennel. This had not been affecting any other plants as far as I could gather, thankfully. But then phacelia is possibly impervious to anything, including Armageddon!

However, the phacelia had to be chopped down a bit, though there is still plenty to keep the bees happy. And it is adorning the living room, along with bluebells my daughter picked while I perused the territory.

 

mangetout

  

spinach , parsnip, strawberries and beeetroot

 

Things have really been coming on in leaps and bounds since it decided to start raining again about a week ago. Not only have the mangetout shot up but so has the spinach. This normally fares poorly in my garden but maybe I will get a decent crop this year.

I am also very pleased with the strawberry plants, both the ones from my own runners and the ones given to me last November by Old Sleningford Farm. Most are growing into strong plants and the flowers are turning to fruit.

I might also have a solitary parsnip growing where I have now planted the beetroot due to what I thought was a no-show from the former. Never having grown parsnip before I don’t know what to expect but after recent experience of being overzealous with the weeding, I will leave to see what happens next.

Last but not least, I am pleased to see that apples are forming. The tree is still without the usual covering of leaves but slowly stuff is sprouting on the branches, so it may yet happen. On the other hand, having relatively bare branches meant I got to see the first bird (that I’ve noticed) sitting amongst them. So yet another event to make my day.

 

apple buds

 
And I got a free lunch, too!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture, Social and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to The magic of rain

  1. Lovely update Helen thank you for sharing have a blessed weekend

  2. Hey Helen – I must be mean, when I decide to move the seedlings outside that’s it. I don’t bring them indoors again. Mind are busting to get out of their pots currently – good news for them, this is the weekend 🙂 I’m hoisting out fennel too .. it has grown like mad and thankfully hasn’t stunted the growth of nearby plants. Ha ha .. phacelia is always on steroids! Wonderful post ..

  3. gaiainaction says:

    Glad to hear that your hands are improving Helen, and your garden is growing well by the look of it, it’s beautiful and healthy looking 🙂 Have a nice and peaceful weekend.

    • Helen says:

      Thank you for observations. You should have seen my garden when I first took it over – very unhealthy!!

      And yes, the medication I received on Monday is making it much easier for me to use my hands 🙂

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

