Oh dear, we’re flowering!

Yes, it is almost June and we haven’t had a frost since…. weeks. But you never know with British weather. And this year has been decidedly odd, anyway.

So, the courgettes are eager to get out of their pots and join their bean sisters outside. I think they are hinting quite strongly by going into flower – so I am telling them to be patient for just a few more days.

 

courgettes ready to leave the kitchen

 
Personifying plants may be just that. In other words, they don’t really speak, have conversations with each other, let alone human beings, but I have an increased respect for them since reading John Jeavons’ book on growing more vegetables in small spaces.

They are as remarkable and complex as any other organism – and definitely respond as any other organism to good treatment. This includes, apparently, touching their leaves as little as possible. I’m not sure why this is – I am trying to pot up or plant out in a different way now, though.

So, returning to the courgette question, I will be lifting them more carefully out of their pots when the time comes!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Oh dear, we’re flowering!

  1. Good to see a happy plant and a happy gardener!

  2. I think they respond amazingly to TLC .. Watch out for their roots too. Easy does it 😊

  3. drofmit4108 says:

    Put the poor things into bigger pots, if you can’t put them out…
    the reason they are flowering is that they are near the end of the food supply in that tiny pot!

  4. gaiainaction says:

    That’s brilliant Helen!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

