The Walled Garden

Old Sleningford Farm is part of a larger estate which belongs to Old Sleningford Hall. This Hall is having an open gardens event at the weekend and in preparation for this we went to help out at the farm.

I can’t speak highly enough of the forest garden where we were pulling out weeds today. Apart from any other considerations, it is a wonderful place for my daughter to explore. As a kid, I had loved playing hide and seek amongst the borders in the back garden and I wish our own mini forest was developed enough for the same kind of activity.

There weren’t actually any other children there today, so no hide and seek on this occasion. However, there were pigs to feed and my daughter helped round up some stray sheep, as well as explain that she wanted to live for 250 years…..

pigs having a nap

Once the weeding was done, I was invited to have a look at the Walled Garden that belongs to the Hall. They used to be a popular part of the gardens on estates and I always enjoy having a peek at what’s growing inside them. On this occasion it was more the view when we got to the other side which enthralled me, though.

view over Old Sleningford Hall walled garden

Then on the other side of the wall, along the lane, there was an abundance of wild flowers. Aren’t the forget-me-nots gorgeous?

 

close-up of forget-me-nots

  

wild flowers along the lane

 

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Good for the environment, Permaculture, Social and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Walled Garden

  1. Awesome thank you for sharing

  2. Those are forgt-me-nots. I assume that your daughter had fun playing with the animals. Thanks for sharing
    Honey

    • Helen says:

      Yes, that’s something I learned just yesterday…. And my daughter had a lovely time. On the way to the farm she had asked if we could come home after an hour max but would have been happy to stay longer in the end ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. What a lovely place, how good of you to lend a hand! 250 years, hilarious .. Oh imagine ๐Ÿ˜Š

    • Helen says:

      Yes, 250 years might just give me enough time to do everything I’d like to do lol. She’s certainly going to need it, considering what she’s got planned!

      Anyway, it is definitely a great place to volunteer. I learn so much each time…..

  4. Wow, what a lovely place to visit! When I lived in the Uk with my son, we had a national trust card that gave us a reduced entrance price to many beautiful places…we had so many lovely days out in beautiful gardens etc.
    That view, and those forgetmenots are gorgeous!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

