A rare Tuesday in the garden

Today has been the last day of a five-day weekend for me and, although I am a little sad that it is almost over, I am ever so pleased that things are moving along in a positive direction in the garden. And that my daughter has been so happy to be outside with me.

I decided to take the plunge and plant out most of the courgette plants at the back of the garden. The night-time low is expected to be between 6 and 9 degrees Celsius over the next few days so I can’t see they are going to shrivel up and die. At least not because of that!

 

courgettes amongst the holly, roses and strawberries


I’ve kept a couple of plants in pots but they have moved to bigger homes, where I hope they will be happier than before. And I think they look quite attractive with the borage and a tray of beans which have yet to germinate.

repotted courgettes

Another plant in need of a new home was the Japanese maple. This year some of the branches have not produced any leaves, so I hope it isn’t going to die on me. So, instead of being in a pot on the patio, that is now amongst the phacelia in the front garden.

Japanese maple in the front garden

I’ve mulched it with coffee grounds. Acers prefer acidic soil, and while I am sure the grounds are unlikely to radically changed the pH of the front garden they can’t do any harm. They will also add a bit of nitrogen, so let’s hope that all does the little tree some good!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to A rare Tuesday in the garden

  1. atkokosplace says:

    Coffee grounds are great for so many things. Great way to recycle the old grounds back into the soil! I have a Japanese maple that I’ve been contemplating moving, but I’m afraid I might kill it! Its about 4 feet tall. Good luck with yours. ๐Ÿ™‚ Have an awesome day. Koko

    • Helen says:

      Thank you, Koko, and same to you.

      Maybe at four feet tall your Japanese maple would be trickier to move. What colour is it?

      • atkokosplace says:

        It’s a burgundy color. I did’t plant it there. It’s never looked right where it is in the front garden. I’ve tried to plant plants that might make it look better, but sadly no. I think it’s the tree that needs to go.

    • drofmit4108 says:

      Koko, start the move now….
      dig a spade-wide trench around the maple…
      about a foot to eighteen inches away from the trunk…
      cutting through roots is allowed…
      at four foot tall almost inevitable.
      You need to go down a foot to eighteen inches, too.
      Fill the trench with a very good potting compost….
      it is worth the expense as this is the most vital stage.
      Pack the compost firmly and leave it slightly proud of the ground….
      mark the outside of the trench.
      Water well and frequently…
      you’ve just taken a lot of its roots off…
      but, DON’T DROWN IT!

      This winter, once December gets cold enough to stop any activity…
      dig a hole to match in the place you want to put it….
      but slightly deeper…
      put that soil on one side [you’ll need it to fill the hole in the front garden]…
      now comes the trickiest part…
      dig up the tree… along the OUTER edge of the compost filled trench…
      and cut through any tap-root[s] that go down under the bit you didn’t dig through.
      Don’t worry about loose compost coming of the new roots that have grown into it…
      or the damage you do going horizontally under the tree….
      the plant is asleep!

      Slide the plant onto a strong polythene sheet and tie it up around the trunk.
      Put a mixture of compost, bone meal and blood,fish and bone….
      mixed well with some soil….
      into the bottom of the new hole.

      Now move the tree to its new home…
      when you are satisfied with how it looks…
      the plastic sheet both helps slide it to the new home and orientate the tree when in the hole….
      undo the plastic and slide it out from under…
      backfill the hole with soil and compost and bonemeal…
      firming it in as you go.
      Drive a stake in at an angle…
      past the trunk, but not touching….
      use a tree-tie to fasten it home to the trunk.
      now do the same thing at right angles to the first…
      both these stakes need to go into the untouched soil outside the planting hole.
      They do not need to be huge… I use 1″ tomato/rose stakes…
      for the first year, water well, but, DON’T DROWN IT!
      use a mulch mat… or a rake-awayable mulch mix to keep the moisture in.
      Add more compost/soil mixture to the hole if you see it sinking…

      Second year, repeat the watering…. you shouldn’t need to top up the soil now…
      mulch it with leaf litter.
      Third year, remove stakes… leave tree to its own devices!
      From when you dig the first trench to the end of the first year… you will notice a loss of leaves… keep an eye on the buds at that point… and the bark.
      When new growth starts in the first year in the new home, trim back to an actively leafed bud if you notice a bare end of twig…
      same in the second year…
      hopefully you won’t need to.

      Good luck!!
      Tim

  2. Karen says:

    I think your Japanese maple should be very happy in the ground. I hope it grows well for you in your front garden for all to enjoy.

  3. Jackie says:

    Good luck with the courgettes. Mine have barely germinated yet this year – a slow start. But my cucumbers are magnificent (still inside on the windowsill but threatening to take over the house).

    • Helen says:

      Funny how plants grow at different rates…. I hope the courgettes come on okay but great that your cucumbers are doing so well ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Lovely update thank you for sharing Helen

  5. Hey Miss .. Coffee grounds are the best (plus they make coffee ๐Ÿ˜‰). I don’t know if they would make a huge difference with pH .. But good they are acidic .. Bonus nitrogen fert ..

  6. We love our acer. I hope your tree is happy in its new home. Best of luck.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

