First rose of 2015

When I got home this evening I noticed that the phacelia was starting to look the worse for wear. In other words, it was time to chop it down and add it to the compost bin. At least some of it.

I couldn’t bear to get rid of all the pretty purple flowers, so some of the phacelia remains. At the same time, it self-seeds so readily, I doubt this is the only time I will these flowers in 2015.

In any case, even though it might be a sad moment from the point of view of losing some purple, I have gained some deep red. My Ruby Anniversary has produced its first flower for this year.

 

Ruby Anniversary in bloom


Last year, I was getting flowers right up until Christmas, so fingers crossed for a beautiful year this time round. There is in the meantime another rose about to open…. They sneaked up on me! And are a nice surprise considering the day has ended in a rather gloomy fashion. 

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to First rose of 2015

  1. andy1076 says:

    Looks like nature’s beauty decided to visit you indeed šŸ˜Š

  2. A pop of red! You sure will have more phacelia šŸ˜„

  3. With you there with the first roses, I have two! two lovely yellow ones šŸ™‚

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

