Bokashi bin update

Back in the winter of last year, I read an inspiring book by Looby Macnamara about people and permaculture. This inspired me to do my first ever mind map for my own purposes, the central theme of which was decluttering.

I’m environmental terms, my house is better than some. It is small, so takes little energy to heat in winter, for example. 

The flip side is that for anyone with any interests beyond watching television there isn’t enough space. For gardening tools, sewing machines, pianos, books and bokashi bins.

 

the first full bokashi bin

 
In March this year, I bought a bokashi bin, as it seemed such a shame to be giving my food waste to the council so that it could make its own compost. Indeed, I bought two, the idea being that I would have the second to fill up while the contents of the first were curing.

Now, I’ve had to find space for the full bokashi bin, as the final helping of food went into it yesterday. Fortunately, there was one, once I had decluttered a corner by the sofa. And miraculously, I just happened to have a spare table, which had been displaced by a charity shop-bought chest of drawers and which I revamped with chalk paint last weekend.

 

first attempt at chalk paint

 
Apparently, the contents of this first bokashi bin should be ready to be processed in the compost bin in a couple of weeks. I’m a bit nervous, though. Can this stuff really be fermented to the point that it will NOT attract rats?

I think I will therefore give it a month and then revisit the situation. And in the meantime, I’ll getting on with finding a home one way or another for all the stuff that was waiting before to be processed by the sofa……

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Good for the environment, Make do and mend, Permaculture and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Bokashi bin update

  1. I dig this stuff straight into my raised beds. The garden loves the stuff. I might even go and buy myself another bin. Good idea 😊

    • Helen says:

      Yes, I think the company I bought from were right to suggest two right from the start.

      I was just wondering about a spot to dig the bokashi mix into the soil – I think my pumpkins would really love it. At the same time, I am not sure I can dig it in deep enough….

  2. I guess that is one thing with raised beds – I can dig down. Your soil will love it and all those microganisms and worms. 🙂

  3. mybrightlife says:

    When there is a will……etc.. Your chalk paint attempt looks great. I am about to attempt my first chalk paint and polish project too. Any advise?

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

