Can this be a weed?

Today, it has been shockingly cold and dismal. On a gardening forum on Facebook, one woman was getting her husband to put fleece round the courgettes and beans…..

I don’t blame her. I nearly did the same, as my courgettes and beans are suffering, too. It is a small consolation that it might actually be the awful start to summer we are experiencing and not my gardening skills which are the reason behind the current lack of fruitfulness. Not that I was expecting any fruit right now!

And there is a saving grace in this story of gloom. In the form of a yellow flower. I had never seen it before and I therefore didn’t plant it. However, when I was weeding the other day, before the buds started to burst open, I decided to leave it – out of curiosity.

 

unidentified flower

 
The curiosity paid off I think. This little visitor is most welcome, whatever it is. With its open flower, I think it will be attractive for bees, who in spite of the chill, seem to enjoy the pollen on offer elsewhere in the garden, nonetheless. And I will enjoy it for as long as it lasts.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Good for the environment, Permaculture, Social and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Can this be a weed?

  1. It looks like an Iceland Poppy – but the leaves are a little funny. My favourite flower! Congrats!

    • Helen says:

      Yes, it does have a look of a poppy. I love poppies and do hope this is!

      I guess it must self-seed if it came into the garden without me planting it, which means I might get more in the future. Great that I’ve got some colour in place where normally nothing but grass and dandelions grow 🙂

  2. Anne Wheaton says:

    Cold here too – difficult to believe that it’s the first of June. Hope it warms up soon.

  3. mybrightlife says:

    Certainly a pretty weed if it is one…

  4. I think it is a Celandine Poppy, Wood Poppy (Stylophorum diphyllum) …once you have them they will self seed and you will get more and more each year….so some people think of it as a weed. I think they are beautiful, especially when you have a few of them flowering at the same time.

  5. It foes look much like a poppy. Big happy yellow face 🙂

  6. Self-seeding flowers are the best. How nice to have a bright yellow flower to great you in your garden. Darn that cold weather, though. We’ve had the strangest May as well. Very hot, then very cold and just now warming up this first week of June.

  7. drofmit4108 says:

    Helen, it is a Welsh Poppy [Meconopsis cambrica]… the same family as the wonderful, but difficult to grow, blue Himalayan Meconopsis poppy.
    It is not uncommon in the Leeds area… and is usually a garden escape.
    So a native British wildflower… not a weed.
    And, if you leave the pods to mature, it will self-seed… or you could pick the pods when mature and sow the seed in the front garden for added colour.
    The seed, by the way, is quite fine… so do it on a calm day… not the ones you’ve been having of late.
    A weed is just a wild plant in the wrong place!! [and some that are not so wild!]
    Many can be very attractive… just pick up a wildflower book… and many garden plants are derived from their wild cousins!

    • Helen says:

      Thanks for the confirmation that it is a type of poppy. I wonder has been growing them near me then? (Rhetorical question.) Anyway, I am ever so pleased to have it…..

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

