“The weather shouldn’t be like this on the first of June”

Well said, my dear daughter!

 

garden at 9 pm 1.6.15

 
My newly planted courgettes and beans do not like the current climatic goings-on one bit. The netting round the blueberries keeps coming undone and the bean poles are falling in the wind.

Inside, cauliflower seedlings are dying due to lack of light on the stand by the back door. I had hoped by now to have them all on the windowsills, having planted out the tomatoes. Instead everything remains in situ, though at least some of the stronger tomato plants are getting hardened off outside during the day.

To use a cliche, however, every cloud has a silver lining. In this case, plants that prefer cooler weather are romping away. This includes lettuce, cabbage and carrots. And the broad beans are turning from flower into pods.

It doesn’t look like the greenhouse will be getting its new cover on any time soon, which means the only red tomatoes I get could be from the plant indoors. However, the plus in this is that I might have plenty of green ones for green tomato jam, which I discovered last autumn.

And tomorrow is another day. Sixteen degrees and sunny is moving in the right direction 🙂

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to “The weather shouldn’t be like this on the first of June”

  1. afarmingartist says:

    Same story different garden. We have not seen sun for 5 days, and before that every other day. with a high of 75. It did get up to 85 one day a couple weeks ago. I have replanted seedlings twice. I predict a lot of green tomatoes this year.

    • Helen says:

      75 would be brilliant. We’ve hardly been getting sixty, though looking just now at the weather for the rest of the week that is set to change 🙂

  2. Thank you for sharing Helen normal it bright and sunny as it’s my birthday but damp and dull hopefully we be able to say flaming June like it normally is soon

  3. It has been cold, wet and windy here…more like March & April than June! Nothing is moving in the garden except like you say the lettuce and cabbages…..oh well it can only get better (or stay the same I suppose)

  4. You’re so right: always a silver lining.
    My irises got beaten down, but the whole garden got a good soaking.

  5. Oh I hear your weather has been lousy. Monday was gorgeous here .. But winter has arrived today 🙂

  6. It was an awful day yesterday and last night. I hope your plants will be ok and yes roll on more sun and heat 🙂

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

