Bedford Fields

Don’t you just love when you come home from a wonderful evening out? I’ve just had one such this evening and even though I should be getting my beauty sleep I wanted to share the fact that I have at last been to the forest garden hidden in the depths of Leeds urban centre.

On the first Wednesday of each month, Leeds Permaculture Network (LPN) has a social. I don’t normally go because it means traipsing back into Leeds with a daughter who might not enjoy listening to big people talking for a couple of hours. However, this was somewhat different.

For starters, the first speaker – on Bedford Fields – asked for audience participation and my daughter got to demonstrate the root layer in the forest garden concept. (One of my colleagues, who introduced me to LPN, was another, slightly taller layer.) 

Then came Rachel of Old Sleningford Farm, talking about her forest garden. With pictures of how the land looked before, a couple of years ago and now. Very interesting to see how quickly a landscape can change…..

 

Bedford Fields forest garden

 
I think I prefer Rachel’s forest garden. It does feel less urban, which should be no surprise considering it is in the countryside. But Bedford Fields is nonetheless a fruitful endeavour. After all, an edible landscape is one up on wasteland any day. And I have learned a few more plant names!

Above all else, it was good to amongst kindred spirits and do a bit of networking…… I have been encouraged to do the Permaculture Design Course, which I thought would not be possible unless I somehow found adequate childcare, as well as joining the LPN committee.

tree canopy at Bedford Fields

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Good for the environment, Permaculture, Social and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bedford Fields

  1. Lovely post and thank you for sharing Helen

  2. It sounds like you had a great time.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

