And I missed Woman’s Hour!

My normal Friday routine is to slob around until Woman’s Hour on BBC Radio 4. But today the sun inspired me to go straight into the garden and sort out the cucumber seedlings, which seem too robust to be called that. 

  

cucumbers basking in the sun

  
However, they were getting too cramped in their tiny pots on my bedroom windowsill, so for the time being they can luxuriate in a bit more space and fresh compost. The tray/pot they are now in was a freebie from a DIY store (thank you, B&Q) and it will make bringing them in of a night till they have hardened off just that bit easier. Quite how I am going to get them out for planting is another matter – I’ll cross that bridge when I come to it…..

Moving on, the aubergines are also getting past the point where they can tolerate being in their tiny pots, too. And having another homemade grow bag to the ready, the strongest of them has gone in there.

 

aubergine in its grow bag

 
As the tomato plant I put in the other grow bag is almost exceeding the height limit of the cloche I put over it the other night, I’ve put the cover for the stand my neighbour gave me over it. Now let’s see if that blows away 😉

aubergine and tomato plant all togged up

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to And I missed Woman’s Hour!

  1. Lovely update Helen could you not of turn the radio up or took it into the garden to listern to while you were working

    • Helen says:

      I was actually cycling when Woman’s Hour was on – popped out to get some cash and ended up having to go to the other side of the village lol. Normally, I’d get the money immediately after the school run but today I wanted to get the cucumbers sorted first.

      I can actually still access the radio on my phone through WIFI and I can just about hear the real radio from the house as well, though I don’t like to disturb the neighbours.

  2. Busy you ..Those grow bags look interesting. Sounds like those seedlings are busting to get out 🙂

    • Helen says:

      The seedlings really are…. The grow bags are filled with compost I made and the bags are from compost or manure I bought. Hence, their upright position rather than flat 🙂

  3. Karen says:

    I think your seedlings will appreciate having a little more room for their roots.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

