Pots

Today has been such a contrast with yesterday. Instead of a howling wind and grey skies, it was gloriously sunny, calm and, yes, warm. Just as well as it was volunteer work day at Old Sleningford Farm.

We were in my favourite part of the farm, the Forest Garden, planting sweet peas and spreading manure round the fruit bushes. I was quite taken with the framework for the peas – much sturdier than my bamboo canes for the beans. And the wild flowers looked a treat.

 

sweet peas

  

wild flowers

 

I was also pleased to be offered some plant pots to take home with us. There were all sizes to choose from but I am particularly in need of a larger variety. And second hand rather than brand new is right up my street!

 

pots to take home

 
To round off the day, I decided to have a drive along the roads near the farm that I had not been down before. And I am glad I did, because there was a beautiful little village, Mickley, which I could live in any day…..

Mickley, North Yorkshire

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Good for the environment, Make do and mend, Permaculture, Social and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Pots

  1. Awesome post Helen glad you had a nice time I had a supper day out yesterday At Easton Collage open day post coming up shortly

  2. Aren’t wild flowers just the best! That village looks wonderful .. I have loads of pots, wish you lived closer 😃

  3. Poppins says:

    I wish I had remembered the day at Sleningford, I could have joined you. Instead I went to Fairburn ints RSPB. It was lovely, I took some great photos of swans. Have you been?

    • Helen says:

      Yes, been to Fairburn Ings once. It was a bit cold and possibly too early in the year to see much but it is very close to where I live.

      Anyway, if you want to join us at Old Sleningford Farm, the volunteer workday is the first Sunday of every month 🙂

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

