A number of firsts

Back in November last year, I went to see one of my colleagues playing in her band – she plays the cello – when I saw an advertisement for the Great Yorkshire Vegan Festival which was held in Leeds Town Hall today.

 

Vegan Festival at Leeds Town Hall

 
In case you’re wondering, no I am not vegan but I used to be vegetarian and I believe there are as many issues round the production of meat and other animal products as there are fruit and vegetables. So, it made sense to me to have a look at what was going on in the vegan world since last time I looked. Nice strawberry sorbet, at the very least!

Anyway, whilst mentioning more lofty matters, I am really pleased to be registered for a Permaculture Design Course next year. In the past nine months of being aware of permaculture as a concept, I have wanted to do this course but thought it would be impossible because of childcare issues. However, at the Leeds Permaculture Network social last week, it was suggested I could bring my daughter along – presumably for free, since I think at nine she will be a tad too young to do the course herself.

On a more here and now level, the hoped-for rain came overnight and so the soil was a little more workable. Which meant that more mangetout and carrots got sown this afternoon. And a garlic which had bolted came out of the ground….. I’ve never experienced that before.

bolting garlic

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Good for the environment, Health, Permaculture, Social and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A number of firsts

  1. Best of luck on your course, Helen x

  2. drofmit4108 says:

    Some garlic is meant to bolt before harvesting…
    it is a long keeper… we’ve grown it in the past…
    excellent!
    And when it bolts, it curls over like that…
    giving you a handle to hang it up by…
    what variety are you growing?
    Please let me know and I ask t’wife who is the fount of all things garlic and onions and knows about such things!!

    Nice strawberry sorbet, at the very least!“….
    everyone should have strawberry sorbet in their lives!!

    since I think at nine she will be a tad too young to do the course herself“….
    and she will come out the other end giving you instructions….
    having passed with flying colours…
    the way youngsters seem to do!

    • Helen says:

      Thanks for your lovely comments, Tim 🙂

      I’m afraid I can’t remember the variety of garlic but good if it keeps longer – it’s the opposite with bolting onions, is it not?

      • drofmit4108 says:

        Most definitely the opposite….
        we tried… once again… with Red Baron onions…
        this time, as they are available here as an overwinterer…
        over winter… still bolted!
        Pauline is now looking for recipes to use them up…
        probably an onion confit or something scrummy like that!
        She says the variety of “hardneck” garlic we used to grow was Cristo…
        can’t get it in France, unfortunately…. else we’d still be growing it…
        it gave very good results on our plots at Burley Model.

        Herself is just converting the left-over redcurrant mash from redcurrant jelly making into….
        redcurrant sorbet!!

        • Helen says:

          Red currant sorbet sounds divine!

          A pity you can’t get Cristo in France and a shame your onions have bolted. Still, at least you get to eat something scrum my 🙂

  3. Fantastic, you will love the course .. Such a good thing to do. 😃

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

