Resurrecting the greenhouse

Earlier in the year I bought a plastic greenhouse. I had coveted such an item for a while and so was really excited when it went up. Then in March, soon after I put it up, we had terrible winds and the cover got ripped to shreds.

However, before that happened the company had sent me a replacement cover in view of the fact that the first one had already incurred some damage. So, after some deliberation, it seemed worth giving the frame another go at what it was supposed to be doing: enabling me to get a harvest out of tender crops.

greenhouse take two

Now, I hope to be able to take the temporary covers off the tomato and aubergine plants that are in there and plant at least one more of the latter in the borders. Of course, only time will tell if the greenhouse holds up this time but I am hopeful πŸ™‚

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Resurrecting the greenhouse

  1. afarmingartist says:

    I hope it behaves. Now I am inspired to make my green house. I have all the supplies. Since everything else has drowned I might as well grow something under cover.

  2. Lovely update Helen thank you for sharing you just given me an idea if David lets me have a blessed day

  3. Those plastic greenhouses are so handy, but you’re right, they can be a little flimsy in strong winds. We’ve got one in the garden and it works a treat for the tomatoes!

    • Helen says:

      That’s great to know! Last night the temperature didn’t seem any different inside than out (about 16 ΒΊC) but then the sun wasn’t on it by that point πŸ™‚

  4. jane says:

    I had one of these too which blew away 😦 get it really secured at the bottom with extra stuff if poss attach to something that wont blow over.. I got a second hand glass g house for this year ( 50 quid) it is great but has a couple of windows missing which got smashed in transit. need automatic watering system now and window opener lol xxxxx

    • Helen says:

      An automatic watering system would be great πŸ™‚

      The frame is very secure but the plastic is likely to get ripped again if there is a strong wind – possibly because securing the frame means there is less give. Β£50 for a second hand greenhouse is brill, though! x

  5. Good luck .. such a nuisance when things don’t go as planned. πŸ™‚

  6. Jackie says:

    yes – attache the frame to something strong – I have two- one tied to a shed and one to a tree. They’ve more or less stood up for several years now.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

