Of feather and fur

I witnessed the most hilarious event this afternoon. Perhaps the Anglo-Saxon beer I had tried at a talk on food and drink from that period (c. 1200 years ago) had something to do with it but on the way back to York train station a gaggle of geese certainly provided a rare bit of entertainment.

 

geese holding up the traffic, not one bit perturbed by motorists beeping their horns

  

finally deciding to move on to the nearby park

  

having worked up an appetite….

I was not quite so amused when I got home and discovered the resident mouse had taken a chomp at another of my purple runner bean seedlings. It had also found one of the seeds I had sown to replace yesterday’s meal.

mouse’s meal this afternoon

However, my heart softened when I went out to take the above photo. I heard a little rustling and then out popped a head. It went back in, came back out and repeated a couple more times before finally deciding it was safe enough to scuttle right out, do a turn and then scuttle back under the wood pile.

mouse saying hello

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Wildlife and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Of feather and fur

  1. You are too nice. .. I would be in tears! If it’s not one pest it’s another! That mouse has to go πŸ˜ƒ

    • Helen says:

      Yes, it does have to go – wondering if there is a humane way to get it out of the garden and into a field. It would have been better if we hadn’t made eye contact in such a cute way last night πŸ˜‰

      • I know.. I saw one in our shed the other day, and know that if I set a trap to catch a rat, that I’ll end of catching Mr mouse ..and I don’t want to .. Best of luck moving yours 😊

      • drofmit4108 says:

        Helen, you can get live traps from garden centres and pet shops…
        the one just down from the bus station in Otley do them…
        mainly sold to people trying to get their gerbils or hamsters back in the cage….
        bait them with digestive biscuit… seems irrestistable!!

        Traps need checking twice a day as their isn’t enough room for lots of food…
        and you need to release the mouse at least three-quarters of a mile from yours…
        else it will find its way “home”….
        and as it is a Field Mouse [Apodemus sylvaticus]…
        or possibly a Yellow-neck Mouse [Apodemus flavicollis], but unlikely in the Leeds area…
        please release it near to a woodland edge or hedged field boundary.

        So, yes, you can get rid of it humanely… and save your seedlings….
        at least it isn’t a House Mouse!!

        • Helen says:

          Well, I am pleased it isn’t a house mouse. Haven’t got any time to go over to Otley in the next couple of weeks but maybe there is somewhere closer to home which sells the live traps.

  2. Oh what about those geese! Wow .. Traffic stoppers ..

  3. lovely update thank you for sharing could you not leave cheese out then he might leave your seeds alone sorry I not helping am I Helen

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

