Soil amendment on the way

My compost bin has got a hatch on it. I’d always thought the designers of such had been wishful thinking: compost neatly sitting just behind the flap to be taken out as and when needed. Then I opened the hatch and some beautiful homemade compost was there, just begging to be out.

 

helping myself to compost

 
Curiosity satisfied, I thought the least I could do was oblige. So, the potato bin has been topped up and the rest I’ve used as mulch around some strawberry plants. These were put in last autumn without any kind of food, so it was time to be kind to them.

Anyway, I doubt I could get the compost from the back and sides out of the bin without a lot of mess – the heap will need turning for that – but it was fun, taking out the little bit I did. And I am impressed with the bin as a whole. Especially after putting some bokashi mix in the other day, it was been quite toasty in there. And reduced in size by a third 😊.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Good for the environment, Permaculture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Soil amendment on the way

  1. jeffollerton says:

    I used these type of bins when I had a much smaller garden and they are useful and (as you say) you can take a little out at a time. Some local authorities have them for sale at reduced prices, which is how I got mine. But for larger gardens I’d recommend bigger bins made from wood; reused pallets are good. Big gardens generate such a lot of material that it fills the bins very quickly.

    One last point – tear up any paper you add into smaller pieces, it’ll break down more quickly 😉

    • Helen says:

      Yes, I’ve got a small garden but the bin still fills up. I now put dandelion leaves in, having learned that with such long roots, dandelions bring up many nutrients not accessible to shallow rooted plants. That doesn’t fill the bin but I got a fair few handfuls last night.

      Incidentally, any paper you can see in the photo is a recent addition, having fallen down the side of the bin. I’ve deliberately left lots of air pockets so that oxygen can get into the mix 🙂

      • jeffollerton says:

        It’s a tricky balance because too many/large air pockets make the mix too dry and it doesn’t break down. You seem to be doing well though 🙂

        Two more tips for your readers: tear teabags otherwise they take forever to decompose; and add coffee grounds straight to the soil rather than the compost heap, it’s a great conditioner.

        • Helen says:

          Yes, my compost is damp, which actually rather surprised me. But then the bokashi mix etc will have added moisture. The compost from my last bin was a lot drier, I think because moisture evaporated more easily from it, whereas the hard plastic this bin is made of keeps the moisture in 🙂

  2. Lovely post Helen as always my kind hubby brought me 6 bags of manure just lovely without any straw in in it which now sits in one of my might have to put fleece over other wise tow of my dogs will be rolling in ti
    empty compost bins and I top too of my compost bins up with one bag each in winter will just put over the beds to break down

  3. Now that looks so good! Lucky plants 🙂

  4. Pingback: Soil amendment on the way | silverbells steps out | WORLD ORGANIC NEWS

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

