22:24

I was so excited this evening it was difficult for me to focus on work in the garden. Ironic really considering the reason for my excitement (the Permaculture Design Course I am going to do next year) but there you go.

Thankfully, with it being so light in the evenings, there was still time to get down to something before dusk turned into night. Thus, I potted up an aubergine which had been lurking on my bedroom windowsill and desperately needed to be out of there.

After transferring the said aubergine to the greenhouse, I felt inclined to make a bit of space for another planting in the ground. This basically meant shifting the growbag with the tomato in it along a little. No big deal.

And then, after noticing the soil was quite moist under the patch where it had been, I had an idea. Since the ground is so compacted there due to it having been part of the garden path, I wondered if it might not now be soft enough to dig. So, before the light faded too much I go my spade out and did a bit of excavating and now the hole is ready for something to go in there. The question is, what?

inside the greenhouse 23 June 2015

Anyway, I really enjoyed my spot of gardening, even though it happened later than originally intended. And I marvel myself at the amount of light at this time of year.

bedtime in the garden

So, what does the title of this post mean?

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 22:24

  1. Lovely post Helen thanks for sharing and with light from your house if need you could garden in the garden even when it gets dusk

  2. afarmingartist says:

    Is post something about longer days??? I thought I had you, I went straight to the internet, but was quickly confused. Who are you taking your Permacutlure course through? Also, we had a fantastic sunset yesterday as well. I also took a picture.

    • Helen says:

      You were right, the post is about longer days 🙂

      The yellow on greenhouse was actually next door’s security light, although it wasn’t needed. Sunset was probably technically about 45 minutes earlier.

      Anyway, the course is with Leeds Permaculture Network, part of the UK Permaculture Association.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

