The antidote

Friday 26th June was a date I had been looking forward to for quite some time. Not because of what I had planned for the garden, nor my daughter’s school sports day. Notwithstanding, the sports day was endured and the gardening got done.

The first hugel bed I attempted last autumn was meant for courgettes and sweetcorn. Then courgettes have become cucumbers but the sweetcorn will hopefully become sweetcorn. 

However, before any seedlings could be planted and any seeds sown, I needed to pull out the bramble branches from the pile, as they had been remorselessly sprouting new plants. Lesson learned: do not expect blackberry bushes to safely decompose in the garden.

 

first hugel bed up and running


On this occasion, though, the best bit of the day was going to Old Sleningford Farm for their cider festival – a way of thanking volunteers for their work over the past year. The pizzas we made were just ace but the best bit was talking to people who get the concept of permaculture and who want more, not less, of what’s going on in my front garden.

 

my first pizza

  

cooked in a wood furnace

 

And on the way home, I couldn’t help stopping to admire the sunset.

22:17 near North Stainley, North Yorkshire

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Good for the environment, In the kitchen, Permaculture, Social and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The antidote

  1. Fingers crossed for the sweet corn! Nice pizza πŸ˜ƒ

  2. atkokosplace says:

    Oh wonderful! Pizza from an outdoor oven! That is sooooo cool! I’ve wanted to build a pizza oven. I grill my pizzas and that is a delicious way to have them too. I still want my pizza oven! Hahaha. Have a wonderful weekend. Koko πŸ™‚

  3. Pingback: The antidote | silverbells steps out | WORLD ORGANIC NEWS

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

