Lessons in foraging

It seems like I am having quite a permaculture weekend. After a party at Old Sleningford Farm on Friday evening, it was the turn of Skelton Grange Conservation Centre to do the honours on Saturday.

The course my daughter and I went on was to learn about foraging. Well, to learn a few tips and try out some dishes made with ingredients which had been foraged. And from my point of view, pick up ideas for useful perennials to grow at home. Or rather, that’s what I got, in addition to the aforementioned.

So, I am now keen to get a Japanese rose for the back garden. The plants are big, as well as useful for making things like Turkish Delight, so would do perfectly to cover up the black fence on the west side of the garden.

 

rosa rugosa

 
The course was quite pricey at £50 for an adult but we did get a three course meal after looking at various free food, apart from the rose. This included wild garlic, which I sowed myself this evening, hemlock vs. cow parsley and sorrel.

I can’t say I would eat sorrel raw but the soup we had for lunch was fine. Garlic and pepper make most stuff palatable in my opinion, mind! And eating it al fresco with interesting company, well who is going to say no?

sorrel soup

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Good for the environment, In the kitchen, Permaculture, Social and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Lessons in foraging

  1. drofmit4108 says:

    Helen, there are two sorrels that grow well in the Leeds area… and you really only need a large pot of them…
    the one I would recommend is Buckler-leaf Sorrel… small, shield shaped leaves….
    very lemony taste and you can use all the young growth…
    makes an excellent soup…
    but is also wonderful raw in salads… especially when alongside peppery nasturtium leaves….
    and cooked and mashed into potato… to give a green, lemony flavoured mash!!

  2. Hey Miss .. I’m with Tim. It is great in salads and would be super in soups. Our chooks love it too 😀

  3. Lovely update Helen thank you for sharing

  4. I keep meaning to try sorrel soup. Never seem to have time to carry out all my good intentions so well done for making it happen.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

