To cap it all

I am ecstatic!

And not a little relieved…….

Each time I drained my first bokashi bin, a mere drop or two of bokashi tea came out the spout. A little disappointing as I had been hoping for a decent amount of liquid fertiliser for my pots.

But when I emptied that bin, I discovered that the tap had been blocked by some of the bokashi mix. No wonder the bin had been difficult to drain. So, I made sure with the new bin that nothing got up the spout. I also made sure there was plenty of juicy vegetable matter to get the tea going.

Hm… Still nothing came out. In fact, NOTHING came out.

However, a couple of days ago, I pressed the mix to get any air out of it. Which must have done the trick, because this evening I turned the tap – and the tea literally poured out.

nearly 100ml of bokashi tea

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to To cap it all

  1. gaiainaction says:

    Sounds like you got it sorted Helen, thanks to your patience and perseverance!

  2. Awesome update Helen thank you for sharing

  3. afarmingartist says:

    What is Bokashi? Sounds exotic. What type of tea does it make? Energy, calm?

    • Helen says:

      A bokashi bin is for fermenting waste food to make it safe for composting. The tea is the juice comes off the food as it is fermenting in the bin. You can then mix the tea with water to use as fertiliser as well.

      I have yet to see the effects of either on my plants but I am sure that the tea must be full of goodness for them. And no rats have tried to dig up the solids I put in a hugel bed recently 🙂

  4. Nothing like bokasi tea 😉

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

