Turkish Delight

Now, I knew roses were edible. After all, I use rose water in cakes. But on the foraging course I did on Saturday we got to try a jelly made with Japanese rose and that inspired me to look into making Turkish Delight with my own roses.

Turkish Delight with pistachio nuts

It is quite simple to make, if you don’t mind standing over a hot stove when it’s getting on for 30 degrees C (the recipe I used is here). But now I have to wait for 24 hours for it to set and then dry out so that it can be stored. Not sure how long it will be ‘stored’ for, mind😉.

In any event, it is great to know that I can enjoy my roses in the garden and then in the kitchen. And now I am even keener to find a rosa rugosa!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in In the kitchen, Permaculture and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Turkish Delight

  1. You come up with the most original and incredible ideas! (And I didn’t say “inedible” – I said “incredible” 🙂 )

    • Helen says:

      Lol! It’s not really my idea – roses are an important ingredient in Turkish Delight (though I guess in commercially made sweets it is synthetic flavouring!).

  2. mybrightlife says:

    I love turkish delight! WIsh I was there to help you ‘test’ out your new dish! Very cool.

  3. Anne Wheaton says:

    Turkish Delight is one of the things on my “will try one day” list so I shall be interested to see how yours turns out. Have you tried making Rose Jam? Very simple and lasts for a year.

  4. awesome update Helen with 2 lovely things we can make for the kitchen and eat what a lovely a lovely present idea too have a blessing of a day

  5. streepie says:

    I wonder whether this would also work with the wild roses you can find in the UK and France…

    And by the way – I just found this in the guardian: an article on the monetary value of the pollination services of wild bees.
    http://www.theguardian.com/environment/2015/jun/17/bees-are-worth-billions-to-farmers-across-the-globe-study-suggests

    Cheers
    Connie

    • Helen says:

      Thanks for the link to the Guardian article.

      Re the Turkish Delight, on the foraging course I did last weekend, we only looked at Japanese rose but presumably you could use wild roses of other kinds.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

