Wilting!

From a nippy 14 or so degrees we’ve suddenly gone to 32. And it’s not just people who are wilting.

 

broadbeans 1 July 2015

 
Most stuff in the garden seems to be bearing up fairly well. Even the self-sown runner beans, which I mistakenly pulled up and replanted, are regaining their strength. And everything in the greenhouse is just loving it. However…..

I think it was a mistake to plant broad beans in the grow bag with Jerusalem artichokes as I can’t give them enough water. Fortunately, the last of the beans are almost ready to be picked, so hopefully when I cut the plants down the artichokes will get enough liquid to keep going.

And I hope it does rain tomorrow. Was supposed to do so today and on Sunday but, ha! Nothing happened.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Wilting!

  1. Oh wonderful post. I was so eager to plant Jerusalem artichokes (they are in the same family as my fav yacons) but as much as I love them, they don’t agree with me! Sunchokes … gulp. You are amazing .. I love your eagerness! Good luck with you garden .. Helen, if you get a chance watch this video .. magic stuff https://www.youtube.com/watch?t=29&v=HkZDSqyE1do

    • Helen says:

      Thanks for the link – I will watch it after work today 🙂

      A pity Jerusalem artichokes don’t agree with you – but at least they won’t be taking over your garden!

  2. Lovely post Helen it might rain later or during the night I will open all my compost bins later so they can get a drink have a blessing of a day

  3. atkokosplace says:

    I hope it rains. We’ve had two days of it. If I could send you some, I would! 🙂

    • Helen says:

      Thank you! There was actually a massive thunderstorm last night, although we were away from home and it looks like less rain fell than I had hoped for.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

