Disappointments and delights

Really, I don’t think the fact that the new greenhouse cover has already torn should come as a surprise, but when I got home this evening and noticed the damage I was disappointment, nonetheless.

It was also a disappointment that, inspire of some rain, the ground where I wanted to plant out some new purple runner beans, which have sprouted surprisingly quickly, was untouched by water. It was rock hard as well. Still, notwithstanding my psoriatic hands, I managed to dig the holes for these beans. And for a marigold which is just about to flower.

 

watering the new plantings


Talking of marigolds, I was delighted that the one planted with the first batch of runner beans is in flower. And the beans themselves are making some headway after a shaky start.

 

first marigold in flower


Another thing I am pleased about is the solitary cauliflower I sowed last summer. It is a bit of an odd shape but I absolutely don’t mind. This will be the first of its kind since 2011 and I’m looking forward to eating it. Very soon!
 

aloo gobi on the way

 

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, In the kitchen and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Disappointments and delights

  1. Awesome update thank you for sharing Helen have a blessed day

  2. So sorry to hear that your growhouse cover has already torn, that’s terrible! Have there been high winds where you are? Well done with the cauliflower though, our caulis are also coming through… yummy! πŸ™‚

    • Helen says:

      Good to hear you are having a successful year with caulis πŸ™‚

      The greenhouse is poor quality when all is said and done. However, if it sees me through this year, I will be very happy.

  3. Pingback: Disappointments and delights | silverbells steps out | WORLD ORGANIC NEWS

  4. Thanks for a picture of a normal cauli. I was beginning to think I was the only one growing these.
    πŸ˜‰

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

