Thanks to the storm….. mulching

Friday into Saturday was a jolly in North Yorkshire with my sewing bee. 

 

view over the Yorkshire Dales

  

sheep taking an interest in visitors

 

I was glad I had taken some photos on Friday evening, as soon after midnight the thunder and lightening started. Boom. Flash. And when we woke up visibility was very poor. But there was certainly a lot of atmosphere.

view over the pods at Grinton Lodge

Thankfully, it had also rained back home. So, on returning, the first thing I was confronted by was flattened phacelia. It had taken quite a belting.

flattened phacelia in the front garden

However, I had before going away already made plans for the phacelia now that it was turning to seed. The compost bin didn’t need any more such additions but the back garden was much in need of mulching.
So, I cut down a section of the front garden, collected the seed heads and put them in the airing cupboard to dry, then chopped up the stems to go round plants. Once this had been done, the mound of phacelia didn’t look terribly big. In fact, there was just enough mulch to go round two pumpkin plants. 
Still, I have plenty more out the front, which means another chopping session is planned for tomorrow. It’s supposed to rain some more, which in turn means there will be more dampness to be kept in the soil, rather than letting it evaporate when the sun comes out again. So, let’s see if it works.

 

mulch around the pumpkins

 
 

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Good for the environment, Permaculture, Social and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Thanks to the storm….. mulching

  1. Awesome update Helen and have a blessed afternoon

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

