Bartering for strawberries

I recently read The Moneyless Manifesto by Mark Boyle. While his views are undoubtedly extreme for the majority of people, and his behaviour equally if not more so, I believe we need the Mark Boyles of this world to push the boundaries.

It is doubtful I will be giving up money any time soon. I’ve got a mortgage and children’s parties to pay for! On the other hand, there is a great deal of satisfaction to be had from sharing.

Yesterday, I spent the afternoon topping and tailing gooseberries at Old Sleningford Farm. Quite a monotonous job made pleasurable with good conversation.

Then we learned that a neighbouring business on the estate was closing down and needed to get rid of thousands of plastic containers. They didn’t want them going in landfill and didn’t want to pay for them to be recycled. So, they were giving them away.

I couldn’t think of a need for these containers but felt sorry for the couple, so filled my car boot with them. Then I realised they did have a potential use.

My daughter and I had planned to go strawberry picking after working at the farm. So, when we pulled into the Pick Your Own nearest to Old Sleningford, I asked if they would be interested in the contents of my boot. And could I have a punnet of strawberries in return?

In the event, we were offered a second punnet to fill and one of the women working there showed us the best place to pick….. Black clouds were rapidly covering the sky and a thunderstorm did in fact break out moments after we got back in the car.

Home safe and dry, I made strawberry ice cream last night. Now, I’m onto sorbet and jam today. Still feeling good about helping two sets of people out and getting about one and a half kilos of strawberries for my little girl (and myself, of course).

strawberries and mini ice creams

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in In the kitchen, Permaculture, Social and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Bartering for strawberries

  1. Awesome update thank you for sharing Helen

  2. Brilliant story – just shows you how we could all improve the world if we thought a bit more. Thanks for telling us.

  3. What a great story .. Good on you Helen 😃

  4. I love this story! Nicely done.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

